The Healthy Elvis

Currently I am on a beach in Mexico but I did get a few posts ready to go up while I am off relaxing! Hey, if anything, that is a great recipe name, right? This is one of my “healthy” recipes. I guess each person has their own version of healthy but to me this is it. It has carbs, protein, not TOO much sugar and will stick with you until lunchtime! It features some good, clean ingredients. If I was making just a plain Elvis I’d include a lot more butter, a lot more peanut butter, more sugar and plenty of bacon!!

20140126_095429

Since I have stepped up my working out a bit I am pretty conscious to eat something before I go workout in the morning if I’ll be exercising more than a half hour. Otherwise I find myself pretty weak. I usually eat dinner by 8pm so the next morning I am running close to E. I have found for me a good breakfast is toast, peanut butter and a banana. I used to loathe bananas. Isn’t it funny how your taste buds change? I eat them now for breakfast, a snack, in smoothies, etc. To me they are great fuel!

For a more leisurely day – say a Sunday – this is a perfect healthy and hearty breakfast to assemble when you aren’t rushing off to the gym. But it won’t make you feel too guilty if you are on a rest day or skipping they gym. I know it can happen! If you would like to include some meat – maybe skip the bacon and serve with lean ham or turkey bacon. We had ours with venison bacon and it hit the spot!

20140126_093056

It looks like Winston wants in on a healthy Elvis. I bet he would love one! (Please disregard the plywood countertops and miscellaneous remodeling items.)

20140126_093103

I have been digging this 12 grain light bread. It has some chewy seeds and is only 40 calories per slice. You can get it at Krause’s, Sam’s, Dan’s, etc. And I always use Planters peanut butter – creamy for me!

The Healthy Elvis – serves 2

Ingredients

  • 4 slices low-calorie wheat bread
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten with a splash of skim milk and dash of vanilla extract (you could use egg whites or egg substitute instead)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Butter for frying (1 Tbsp. tops, divided)
  • 1 to 2 ripe bananas, sliced on a diagonal
  • 2 tablespoons creamy peanut butter, divided
  • Powdered sugar, for topping
  • Sugar free maple syrup, for topping

Directions

Lay bread out on counter. In a shallow bowl, lightly beat 2 eggs, skim milk, vanilla and cinnamon together for a bread bath. In a skillet on medium heat, melt a teaspoon of butter. Add sliced bananas and allow to cook until slightly caramelized. Remove from pan and set aside. Melt another teaspoon of butter in skillet. Dunk bread into egg mixture and allow it to soak up the eggs. Make sure to soak both sides. Cook until golden brown, about 3-4 minutes on each side. Remove from skillet. Repeat as needed. Spread two slices with 1 tablespoon each peanut butter and jelly. Add ½ banana on top of the PB&J bread slices. Top with the other slice of plain toast and cut in half. Top with a dash of powdered sugar and sugar free maple syrup along with the other ½ of the banana.

20140126_094101

Caramelize your bananas first. You want that yummy golden flavor on them!

20140126_094739

The idea is to put the peanut butter on right away so it gets melty. That is the best!

20140126_095444

Slice in half and top with the other half of the banana. Optional – serve on a plywood countertop!

20140126_095506

I topped my healthy Elvis with a dusting of powdered sugar and some sugar free syrup. This was a hit in our household. Some crunchy venison bacon and we were happy and full!

I’ll give you a rough calorie breakdown per serving. I don’t count every calorie but this is a good guesstimate.

  • 2 slices of bread at 40 calories each – 80 calories
  • 1 banana – 100 calories
  • 1 egg – 75 calories
  • 1/2 Tablespoon butter – 50 calories
  • 1 Tablespoon peanut butter – 90 calories
  • Powdered sugar and sugar free syrup – 20 calories

Total per serving: 415 calories!! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

