Balsamic Meatballs

Oh man, I love meatballs. Who doesn’t though? I mean even if you are vegetarian I bet you like vegetarian versions. They are just so multi-purpose and easily poppable. You can have them as a snack, appetizer, main dish, tailgating, etc. And besides that you can flavor them with almost any combination – Italian, Mexican, buffalo-style, etc. Well, once ingredient that I love is balsamic vinegar. I have some great stuff I picked up in South Dakota and I was basically looking for a vehicle to get the balsamic vinegar into my mouth!!

20140126_162210

Fine dining on my kitchen floor with a paper plate!

Prior to the kitchen remodel, I assembled and froze a bunch of soups, meats and some meatballs. I used my typical meatball recipe, rolled them in balls, froze them on a sheet pan and then placed them in a zip top bag so they’d be easy to thaw and bake when I needed them. Feel free to use any meatball recipe or just a cooked ball of meat – I don’t care! This recipe is for 1 lb. of meat. I think it would be good on chicken or turkey meatballs too. I pasted my meatball recipe below if you need one.

20140126_153804

Balsamic Meatballs

  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar (mine is a fig flavor)
  • 1/3 cup ketchup
  • 1 T packed brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon mustard
  • 1 clove garlic, minced  
  • 1/2 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

In a medium saucepan combine all ingredients. Bring to a boil; reduce heat. Simmer, uncovered, for 20-ish minutes or until slightly thickened, stirring occasionally. Reserve a small bowl of sauce for dipping. Pour the rest of the sauce over warm meatballs and serve.

20140126_160928

You can see above how the sauce gets thick – almost like a BBQ sauce.

Italian Meatballs

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • ½ tsp. black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. dried, minced onion
  • ½ tsp. garlic salt
  • 1 heaping tsp. dried Italian seasoning
  • ¾ tsp. dried oregano
  • ½ tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • Few dashes of hot pepper sauce (like Frank’s)
  • 1 ½ Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 cup egg substitute (or 1 egg)
  • 1/3 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl. Mix with your hands to incorporate and portion out to equally sized meatballs (20-24). Bake at 400 degrees for 20-25 minutes.

  20140126_162155

The balsamic vinegar makes these sweet and they are such a fun bite. I served mine with sweet potato fries and those were also excellent dipped in the reserved sauce. These would go great with rice or pasta as well. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

