Amish Sugar Cookies

No matter what I always come back to baking. Yes, I get tired of it or thinking of a new recipe. My kitchen is in shambles – forks are in one room, plates in another, my Kitchen Aid mixer is in the basement. Oh, and also, I am trying to eat HEALTHY because I am going to be on a beach in mere days. But, I always love to bake. It calms me, makes me happy and I love when it comes together. I made these because I knew where the simple ingredients were in my torn up kitchen. Also, my husband and his friend were working on the kitchen and I basically NEEDED a little something to keep them happy while they worked. Yes, I sampled the dough and the cookies. But then I quit! And the cookies? Well they were very good. When you see the ingredient list you will understand why. These are NOT healthy cookies. They definitely are not very sweet, but super buttery. Crisp on the outside and like a pillow in the middle.

20140119_115420

Sugar cookies are always basic and always a hit. For this recipe, no frosting is required. You don’t have to roll them out or cut them. The less fuss the better when your kitchen is like mine!

20140119_110444

This is our basement wet bar. I decided to set up shop there to get my cookies together. Typically the microwave resides in the kitchen.

20140119_110453

Things actually worked out well, I assembled and scooped the cookies in the basement and just took them up to the oven to bake. Work with what you have! There is no sink in my kitchen at the moment, so this really worked well.

Now one thing I must say is I don’t know why these are Amish? The original recipe calls for the butter and oil and sugar to be beaten in a bowl. The Amish don’t have electricity so maybe that is why? But I am decidedly NOT Amish so I made mine using the Kitchen Aid mixer.

This recipe is only slightly altered from one I found on the Taste of Home website. The only differences is I used some almond flavor because I love it. Vanilla would also be just fine. I chilled the dough for a half hour prior to scooping and in between batches. Oh and I added sprinkles…because…well, sprinkles.

Ingredients
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 4-1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • Sprinkles for garnish
Directions
  1. In large bowl, beat the butter, oil and sugars. Beat in eggs until well blended. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda and cream of tartar; gradually add to creamed mixture. Chill cookies for at least one half hour.
  2. Drop by tablespoon (+) onto ungreased baking sheets. Garnish with sprinkles if you’d like. Bake at 350° for 10-12 minutes or until lightly browned on edges. Don’t over bake. Remove to wire racks to cool. Yield: about 4-5 dozen, depending on size.

20140119_110506

This is the butter, oil and sugars mixed together. Next I added the two eggs and beat it until fluffy for a few minutes. Fluffy = good.

20140119_111737

This is what the dough looks like when it is ready to go.

20140119_11340020140119_114657

Before and after. The cookies puff up a little and spread just a bit but not much. If you’d like you could use a glass dipped in sugar to flatten these but I like them rounded.

20140119_114722

I put sprinkles on mine for a fun touch.

20140119_115424

Don’t these look gorgeous?

IMG_20140119_122925

These cookies are easy and quick to make. Even if you have a messy or not put together kitchen. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

