Quick and Easy Dumplings

Hi there – I think you all know that I am in the middle of a kitchen remodel. I have some recipes I made before but happily – I have a guest recipe from my Mom. She doesn’t provide any commentary so I’ll do the best I can for her.

2014010795165450

My Mom is currently working a job where she has 12-hour days. My parents have been married for a bajillion years (39 years this year) and we had a very traditional upbringing. My Dad worked, Mom had the kids and took care of the house. This means she has always cooked and cleaned for my Dad. Since she is gone for a long portion of the day right now, she tried to find some simple recipes that Dad could put together and have ready for them on the days she works. Also, it should be noted that he is a very meat and potatoes kind of guy. He doesn’t really care for anything ethnic or spicy at all. He loves dumplings and this is an easy way to satisfy that craving!

Quick and Easy Dumplings

  • 1 pint of heavy whipping cream or half and half 
  • 1 stick butter or margarine
  • 1 medium onion chopped fine
  • 2 tubes buttermilk biscuits (10 per tube)
  • 3 or 4 potatoes, thinly sliced

An electric frying pan works the best for this.

Pour 1 pint of heavy whipping cream into the electric frying pan then add 1 stick of butter and sprinkle in the chopped onion. Bring this to a boil.

Thinly slice enough potatoes to cover the bottom of the pan. Bring to a 2nd boil.

Use 2 tubes of small buttermilk biscuits cut in half. Layer on top of the potatoes. Close the lid and cook on medium heat for a half hour. DO NOT OPEN LID until the time is up. Serve with veggies and meat.

20140107951709062014010795171643

Here you can see the cream with the butter and onions. Next is with the potatoes in there and the biscuits on top. This is a pretty carb heavy meal so I’d say it would be good on a cold winter evening.

20140107_174825

Here is the meal with the biscuits done and ready to eat.

2014010795175348

My Mom admitted this isn’t the most photogenic meal, but it hits the spot after a long day and is easy to assemble.

I went ahead and visited our friend Google to find a Crock Pot version or something similar. I think she should make my Dad try this one next. This includes the veggies and meat in the dish so hopefully it would be even easier for him and her. I found this at Mrs. Weber’s Neighborhood and altered it slightly so there would be less chopping for Dad.

Crock Pot Chicken & Dumplings (her photo above and below)

INGREDIENTS

  • 10 frozen chicken breast tenderloins or 3-4 large boneless, skinless chicken breasts (equal to 1 ½ – 2 lbs.)
  • 10-16 ounce bag of mixed, frozen vegetables (corn, carrots, peas, green beans)
  • 2 large potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 can of chicken broth
  • 2 cans cream of chicken soup
  • 1 cup of water
  • 1 tsp. thyme
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 2 tubes buttermilk biscuits (10 each) cut or ripped into 4 pieces each

DIRECTIONS

Place all ingredients except for biscuits into the crock pot. Cook for 6-8 hours on low. 30 minutes before serving, rip up raw biscuit dough and place them on top of the soupy mixture. Wait 30-60 minutes for dough to cook, then dig in!

If you are looking for an easy and comforting meal give either one of these a try. Mom and Dad approved. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Guest Post, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick and Easy Dumplings

  1. mom says:

    Sarah you are funny. Really not the best looking meal but so good.

Leave a Reply

