Meal Prep Options

Today I wanted to share a few meal prep ideas I hope you find useful. I really have no idea what other people do, but this is what works for me. This takes quite a bit of time but is worth it throughout the week. Where I live there are no fast food restaurants (a blessing!), very few restaurants and even fewer within a 10 miles. I work at a place that is kind of in the middle of no where. We get 1/2 hour for lunch and that is not enough time to go to a town where there is food so I bring my breakfast and lunch every single day. This is good for my nutrition, but difficult to plan and not get in a rut.

20140105_101727

Right now our produce is very limited. While the grocery stores might have some items, the quality is just not the same as the summer. I miss you summer! What I did was purchased some bags of frozen veggies on sale (corn, broccoli and green beans) and roasted them. The bonus is you don’t have to chop anything! The downside is the taste isn’t quite as good. It helps by roasting them with olive oil and seasonings of your choice. Divide and package for your daily lunch veggies.

20140105_103759

I have made it a point in the past 6+ months or so to eat 3 square meals. It really helps my hunger and mental clarity to eat every day. I don’t wake up hungry so I usually have something at work during my first break or when I first get there after my drive. A new favorite is the egg muffin. This is a healthy take on a gas station option. You just need some Light English Muffins, eggs and lean ham.

20140105_112720

I toast the muffins in the oven until crunchy. I top them with cooked ham and two scrambled, cooked eggs. I wrap each one individually in tin foil and reheat at work in the toaster oven. Simple!

20140105_112931

Serve along side some fruit (grapes were on sale this week) and you have a nice, rounded breakfast. I also make my husband’s meals for the week so it gets to be a lot of work but we both appreciate the fresh foods. I appreciate not having to get up earlier to make breakfast each day! On days I don’t eat eggs, I usually have frozen waffles. I know – they are processed, but I am a work in progress. I buy the wheat ones and take with measured out peanut butter and low sugar jelly to top them with. I love that breakfast. The peanut butter really keeps me full all morning.

20140105_132024

Here is a snap I took of the fridge after a morning of prepping meals. What I have for me is: 2 egg muffins, 3 peanut butter/jelly packets, apples, applesauce cups, 2 bagged Asian salads with chicken breast, bagged BBQ salad with ham, roasted broccoli, roasted veggies from above and meatballs with veggies (leftovers). The hubs has similar. The pop and juice is our magic mix for hopefully getting over our colds. Half Dt. 7 Up and half low-sugar cranberry juice. The jug is iced tea – my year-round drink. I love seeing the fridge full and packaged, ready to go. I hate seeing it go empty! It’s a struggle to come up with ideas so I thought I’d share a few of what we did this particular week.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Exercise, Feisty Eats, FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meal Prep Options

  1. Katey911 says:

    Good job! It is a lot of work but so worth it. I agree, an empty fridge is a sad fridge. I love seeing ours full of good choices!

Leave a Reply

