Twice Baked Breakfast Potatoes

Hey guys! Sorry for a bit of an absence. I have been just taking time for myself and enjoying the holiday bustle. Sometimes it is hard to post on here every week as, like everyone, my time is limited. I (obviously) don’t do this for money, it is just a hobby and sometimes, like any hobby, I just don’t feel like doing it! But here I am!

My posting might be sporadic. We are planning a kitchen remodel and it will likely take 2+ months to do everything. I am excited and can’t wait to see the final results. I will be so happy to see this tiled countertop (below) gone. Maybe I can post some meals to make while your kitchen is tore up? Like Subway sandwiches? Ha ha! I have been making some freezer meals to prepare us but I’m sure it won’t be all fun. But again, worth it! Half of our dishes are already packed up or not available due to the upcoming projects. So don’t hate on the paper plates!

20140105_111234

Today’s recipe is Twice Baked Breakfast Potatoes. I can’t recall where I first saw this recipe, but I love the idea. I did a quick Google search and Taste of Home has them here. I modified them a bit to be healthier and to our tastes. I am not a resolution person, per se, but I am hoping 2014 is the healthiest year for me yet. I want to be fit and eat food that is good for me. Good food always makes me feel better, but “bad” food is usually readily available and I don’t have any problem eating pizza or nachos here in there. And my baked good recipes won’t disappear, there may be fewer though?

20140105_111225

Anyway, it’s all about balance and moderation. (That said, both my husband and I are battling a cold right now, womp, womp!) I would consider this a healthy meal. I am not a fan of soft eggs in any style so my recipe reflects that. I am sure you could incorporate a soft egg on this or leave out meat if you prefer.

20140105_102121

I made this for two of us using leftover baked potatoes. I imagine these would reheat well if you wanted to make a bunch for the work week for your breakfasts. I would think you could even freeze these, take out and thaw for any breakfast guests. Yum! You can easily modify this to switch out meats, add cheese, sour cream, whatever you want!

20140105_10275920140105_104602

Twice Baked Breakfast Potatoes

  • 2 medium baked potatoes, cooled (of course you can nuke them in the microwave)
  • 1 tsp. butter
  • 3 eggs, beaten (or egg substitute or egg whites)
  • 1/4 lb. lean, diced ham
  • 2 Tbsp. light sour cream
  • 2 Tbsp. salsa
  • 1/8 cup shredded cheddar cheese
  • Chopped green onions to taste (about 2 Tbsp.)
  • Salt, pepper and Italian seasoning to taste
  • Additional anything for topping. I like more salsa and onions, the Mr. likes sour cream

In a large skillet, melt butter over medium heat. Add the eggs and cook until set. Remove and set aside. In the same skillet, brown the ham, it will only take a few minutes. Set aside with eggs.

Cut each tater in half lengthwise. Scoop out the innards and leave the skins intact. Mash the potatoes to the eggs and ham. Stir in sour cream, salsa, cheese, green onions and any seasonings you like. Spoon into the potato skins.

Place in a baking vessel and bake, uncovered at 350 for about 15 minutes or until heated through. Top with whatever you like! Serves two. Can easily be modified to your likings or increased.

20140105_111213

We enjoyed ours with a berry smoothie and it totally hit the spot! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Twice Baked Breakfast Potatoes

  1. Two of my favourite things – baked potatoes AND breakfast!

  2. I love the paper plates:) Good luck with the kitchen remodel. Hope it goes smoothly and quickly.

Leave a Reply

