MacKenzie River Pizza, Bismarck

20131123_102316

Oh winter, so beautiful, but so cold. I snapped this photo out of my parents back window at their home. They are so lucky to live on the Missouri River and see these landscapes every day. I came to visit them a few weekends ago to tag along for a trip to Bismarck. It is always an event to go to the city when you live in a rural town. Stock up on supplies!

20131123_143635

We were in Bismarck as I was shopping for a dress for all the upcoming holiday parties. I swear I couldn’t find anything in the whole city of Bismarck. Actually, I found a super cute and I thought flattering dress at Lot 2029 downtown (super cute store) but I couldn’t bring myself to spend the money. I am such a cheapskate. We continued to the mall and everything was either $$, old lady, barely covers your butt, or was too young for me. Isn’t this prime holiday party season? I was hoping for something sparkly and festive. I eventually did get a dress on a great sale, but it isn’t exactly holiday themed. This was probably the cutest sweater I saw all day but I don’t really think it is holiday party appropriate? Maybe? It was at Target and made me smile.

20131123_151900

After all of that shopping we were quite hungry and I was thirsty! We headed over to MacKenzie River Pizza which is fairly new to Bismarck and a place my parents enjoy visiting. It is on the north side of Bismarck on our way out of town by Wal-Mart so it is ideally located for us. They have a wonderful selection of tap beers and I was happy to see they had Fargo Brewing Co. beer on their tap menu. I gladly ordered a Stone’s Throw Scottish Ale and it was delicious. I highly recommend that beer.

20131123_152005

We started with an appetizer to share and my Mom suggested the Pulled Pork Nachos which are tortilla chips, smoked pulled pork, jack and cheddar cheeses, tomatoes, scallions and jalapeños, drizzled with avocado sour cream. Served with house salsa for 11.75. These were pretty bomb I have to say. I mean it is hard to screw up nachos. But I was happy to see big pieces of real pork and real cheese, not that gross sauce some placed use. I was also happy with the jalapenos, my Dad doesn’t like them so Mom and I gladly ate them up. This was a huge serving. We ended up not really being able to eat anything else (even though we ordered more food) so just know the portions are huge here.

20131123_153616

This is another appetizer called Lodgepoles. They are baked sourdough with olive oil and garlic, topped with melted mozzarella cheese and served with marinara for 4.75. They were OK. Very basic. I suppose if you had a kid with they would like these. I don’t think I’d order them again just because they are pretty plain for me.

20131123_153621

My Dad picked out a pizza to order. You can get original, natural grain or thin crust. This was the BLT thin crust pizza that had signature ranch dressing, smoky bacon, fresh shredded lettuce, tomatoes and mozzarella. A large for 17.50. I can’t say if it was good because I was too full to eat it but my Dad said it was wonderful. I have been here before and had the Athenian pizza which features olive oil and garlic, spinach, red onions, tomatoes, Kalamata olives and mozzarella, dusted with feta. I had the small for 10.50 and it was more than enough but tasted super. If you want a burger they have a Grizzly Burger on their menu that is a HALF POUND! I really enjoyed our visit and our server was nice as well. I know we will be back.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife, Restaurant Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MacKenzie River Pizza, Bismarck

  1. I totally want that dog sweater!

Leave a Reply

