2013 Annual Fall Hazen Wine Tasting

Hello! Last Thursday I attended a super fun event and I wanted to write about it quick to share it and so I can look back and remember this evening.

IMG_20131121_171006

This is what I wore. Sorry for the selfie but who else is going to take a picture of me? Anywho, the wine tasting is hosted by Hazen Bottle Shop, Northwest Beverage/Gallo and Republic National for the wine offerings and the food is provided by Krause’s Market. This is advertised as the social event of the fall and it really is. We saw so many people there and had fun chatting with all of our Hazen and Beulah friends.

20131121_172729

Before we went to taste wine, we popped into our favorite local watering hole, LongShots. They have a weekly football pool you can play for free and see #11? That is my husband. Winning. Proud moment. Ha!

20131121_181339

I apologize in advance for the blurry photos. These were taken with my phone and I was generally in a hurry because I was getting out of the way, or trying to snap a photo with no one in it. I wish I had more photos with my better camera. Maybe next time?

The wine tasting is held at Hazen Golf Course. You enter in the main side door and pay your very affordable $5 fee for tasting. (There are 4 additional wines that you can pay another $5 for a pour.) After you pay, you grab a wine glass for your tasting and an orange sheet explaining the wine and a white sheet explaining the food. Let’s do this!

20131121_184827

Each wine is laid out with the name and price per bottle. All the bottles were on sale and available to purchase that night at the golf course. You can still go ahead and get to Hazen Bottle Shop and buy the wines that were tasted that night. Each table had a water pitcher/bucket for rinsing your glass between tastings. They also laid out lovely flavored cheeses to try with your wine.

20131121_181506

The tasting is held from 6-9pm so we didn’t have time to eat supper beforehand. This really wasn’t much of an issue as they have a HUGE spread of wonderful food from Krause’s market featuring items available to purchase at the store and many of them would of course be good for the upcoming holidays and parties. These (blurry) sandwiches were Croissants (available in the bakery) with Jennie O Maple Bourbon Turkey (deli) and Cranberry Horseradish – a hit for sure!

20131121_182550

I wish this photo had came out better! These were so beautiful. I didn’t actually try one as I was trying to keep the food to a minimum since I was splurging with wine tastes. These were Brownies with Tiramisu Mascarpone (deli) and a raspberry. All the food was so beautifully presented. I just loved it.

20131121_182557

OK, a better photo. This was Vanilla Bean Cheesecake Dip (deli) serviced with either Stacy’s Sugar & Cinnamon or Simply Gingerbread chips. I had the cinnamon chip with dip and it was divine. A sure hit at any Thanksgiving spread. The chips were great! This wasn’t too sweet either.

20131121_183440

This tied as one of the favorite bites for me. Also, I loved the décor at this table. This was a Mini Cream Puff with Toffee Cappuccino Crunch (deli) on it. Super light and the toffee flavor was great. I could have housed about 12 of those but managed to share one bite with my husband. Talk about restraint. My other favorite bite (not pictured) was the Meatballs and Krause’s homemade Sausage in a Plum BBQ Sauce (deli). That isn’t a huge surprise as those bites are usually my favorite, but that BBQ sauce was so great.

20131121_184651

I guess I should talk about the wine too, huh? We aren’t generally “wine drinkers” but drink it on special occasions. We don’t have a wine palate and we certainly are not refined folks. But we do know what we like. One gentleman gave us a sip that we ended up purchasing. We liked the wine, but I think it helped the he was so nice and friendly and told us so much about the wine. We purchased the Fonseca Tawny Port described as a tawny-red colour fading to brick on the rim. Aromas of apricot and plum with mellow undertones of butterscotch and spice. This bottle was $16.99 at the event. We can’t wait to share it at Thanksgiving after dessert. This puppy rings in at 20% alcohol so hopefully it helps us with our afternoon naps!

A few of my other favorites are whites (you can tell I am a newbie wine drinker) and include: Anew Riesling, Barefoot Bubbly Berry Fusion (only $10), and Cupcake Moscato. I did try other reds though and I did like some. I think I am getting better at the tastings. There were definitely a few I didn’t care for, but I never chucked any!

20131121_185822

Some highlights for me:

  • The table decorations were great and so festive
  • The pourers seemed knowledgeable and were nice
  • Great representation from Krause’s – I love seeing the owners/employees there
  • The deli/bakery/produce gals – I go to Krause’s Market at least once a week so I have gotten to know a lot of the gals in these departments. They are always helpful and I saw them hustling behind the scenes and back in the kitchen replenishing food. They all had smiles on their faces and I tried to thank those I saw. I imagine this is a large undertaking for the market and bottle shop and everything went smoothly as far as I could tell. Naturally, a few wine glasses got broken and they mess was quickly cleaned up. Very professional and helpful
  • The food was simply divine. Everything tasted wonderful
  • The wine was good too, lol! I’d love to have a beer sampling event some time!!
  • I can’t wait for the next one. Thank you Krause’s and Hazen Bottle!
  • Pomegranate salsa! I don’t think I have ever eaten pomegranate arils (seeds) but there was a salsa and I had to try it. It was wonderful! Served with tortilla chips, this would be a great item for party food

For anyone interested, below is the list of all food since that is what I love so much!

  • Hot artichoke spinach dip served with pita chips or tortilla chips
  • Mini fillo shells filled with Mrs. Gerry’s seafood supreme or homemade crab dip
  • Croissants with Jennie O maple bourbon turkey and cranberry horseradish
  • Cake balls – peanut butter, carrot, lemon, S’more, salty caramel, German chocolate (was a lovely display(
  • Meatballs and sausage in BBQ plum sauce
  • Shepps pasta bliss (sold in deli, this stuff is great), a blend of pasta, cranberries and cashews in a poppy seed sauce
  • La Brae cranberry nut bread
  • Vanilla bean cheesecake dip with seasoned pita chips
  • Brownies with tiramisu mascarpone and a raspberry
  • Hot Reuben dip served with rye bread or pretzel crisps – the men were loving this!
  • Pomegranate salsa with tortilla chips
  • La Brae sweet potato pecan loaf
  • Mini cream puffs with toffee cappuccino crunch
  • Schepps blue cheese pecan dip with a Wheat Thin

On the wine tables:

  • Salted caramel chocolates
  • Clawson Carnival White Stilton Mango & Ginger Cheese – these was an amazing bite. It was like a dessert and something I have never tasted before, yum!
  • Parmigiano Reggiano cheese – suggested to be served with dried fruits, nuts, honey or balsamic vinegar
  • Tillamook Sharp and X-Sharp Cheddar cheese
  • Sartori Bellavitano cheeses, with varieties including, black pepper, balsamic, raspberry, merlot, gold, chair and basil or rosemary and olive oil asiago.

The Reserve wines (available for a $5 pour)

  • Davinci Brunello di Montalcino
  • Vellum Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Sanctuary Zinfandel
  • Silver Oak Alexander Valley Cabernet Sauvignon

White wines for sampling

  • Anew Riesling
  • Infamous Goose Sauvignon Blanc
  • Dead Bolt White Blend
  • Barefoot Bubbly Berry Fusion
  • Cupcake Moscato
  • Save Me San Francisco Calling All Angels Chardonnay
  • Frei Brothers Russian River Sauvignon Blanc

Red wines for sampling

  • Save Me San Francisco Soul Sister Pinot Noir
  • Bridlewood Estate Central Coast Blend
  • Bogle Essential Red
  • Apothic Dark – Limited Release
  • Terrazas Mendoza Malbec
  • Alamos Seleccion Malbec
  • Velvet Crush Crush Master’s Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Carnivor Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Louis M Martini Sonoma County Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Fonseca Tawny Port
  • Benziger Pinot Noir
  • Terra Andina Carmenere
  • Conundrum Red
  • Gnarly Head Malbec
  • Columbia Crest Grand Estates Merlot
  • Castle Rock Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
  • Katherine Goldschmidt Crazy Creek Vineyards

As you can see – there is something for everyone here! See you next time.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife, Misc. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2013 Annual Fall Hazen Wine Tasting

  1. Tracie B. says:

    I love all the detail! Sounds like a great night. I wanna go.

Leave a Reply

