Meatball Wrap Panini

I have a pretty amazing husband. He does a lot of things for me that I can take for granted. I don’t mean to, but it does happen. He does a lot of Mr. Fix-it things around the house and keeps up the exterior of our home very well. But, he is also a most excellent cook and grillmaster. Another hidden talent is his canning abilities. He cans homemade Ragu (what my family calls it) or spaghetti sauce. I believe he uses a recipe that is from my Grandma Ann. I had a hankering for this sauce one night but I don’t actually really like spaghetti. I thought a meatball sandwich might work, but no bread. So I decided to put it in a wrap and press it on our Griddler. Perfection!

IMG_3806

With more sauce on the side for dipping, naturally.

IMG_3800IMG_3802

Here is the recipe I threw together for the meatballs. I was really happy with how they turned out. Basically, I looked at a few recipes on allrecipes.com and formed my own little recipe! This will make 4 servings.

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • ½ tsp. black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. dried, minced onion
  • ½ tsp. garlic salt
  • 1 heaping tsp. dried Italian seasoning
  • ¾ tsp. dried oregano
  • ½ tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • Few dashes of hot pepper sauce (like Frank’s)
  • 1 ½ Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/3 cup egg substitute (or 1 egg)
  • 1/3 cup Italian seasoned bread crumbs
  • 4 Flatout Light Original tortillas
  • 2 cups homemade or store bought Ragu sauce
  • Sprinkling of your favorite cheese

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Place beef in mixing bowl. Add everything else and mix well using your hands until evenly incorporated. Form meat into a patty and divide it equally into 4 sections. Then divide those 4 sections into 4 equal parts and make meatballs so you have 16 total. Place on a baking sheet and put in your oven until no longer pink, about 20-25 minutes

Place 4 meatballs on each wrap (you will likely have to cut them in half), cover with ¼ cup sauce and cheese if you’d like. Wrap neatly into a burrito like pocket. Place on Griddler until brown on both sides. If you don’t have a Griddler, use broil on your oven and watch carefully. Remove and cut in half. Serve with another ¼ cup Ragu for dipping.

IMG_3801IMG_3803

I have a friend at work who laughs at how many wraps I make. Almost any food is good wrapped up! I swear. Breakfast, lunch, dinner or a snack!

IMG_3804

I love this Griddler. When I moved from Fargo, my girlfriends gave me some gift cards and I used them on this Griddler. So I think of them every time I use it.

IMG_3807

Serve with some veggies and you have a fairly healthy meal. Enjoy!

Happy Halloween! No Halloween recipes today…I might make up some fall cookies this weekend. Stay tuned!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

