Laughing Sun Brewery and The Walrus, Bismarck

My birthday is in the month of October and this year I have definitely stretched my celebrations out all month. Mr. FeistyEats is usually always away hunting on my birthday (which is fine) so we decided to celebrate one day, just the two of us. I requested trying out Laughing Sun Brewery and we had a gorgeous day to do just that.

20131019_142227

The Brewery is located at 107 N 5th St in downtown Bismarck. It is right next Fireflour Pizza and kitty corner from Peacock Alley.

20131019_142253

They open at 2pm on Saturday and we arrived shortly after. We were the only ones there (for like 5 minutes) and the young lady who waited on us was super nice and informative. The interaction with whoever is working is so important in my opinion. I was happy right away she was so helpful. I was also happy we made it in for Hoppy Hour!

20131019_142758

I knew I wanted to try a flight right away. I always love a flight because you get so many tastes and they are usually a good buy. This 5-beer flight was $7 I believe. Here is what I went with:

20131019_142914

From left to right and taken from their website.

Strawberry Wheat – an American-style wheat beer with a light crisp flavor and and an essence of strawberry. ABV = 4.7%

Apricot Wheat – this wasn’t on their website but was pretty similar to the strawberry, except you know, apricot. These were seasonal beers and they were just getting ready to switch over to more “fall” tasting beers.

(*My personal favorite in the flight) Hammerhead Red ESB – this extra bitter  has a combination of both British and American malt and hops. A British pale malt, imparts a slight bisquit-like flavor to this medium bodied, medium hopped, amber ale. ABV = 5.2%

Brown v. Gourd of Libations (seasonal) – a brown ale desegregates traditional beer purity laws by combining generous portions of pumpkin and spices. A touch of roast flavor provides balance to the spice, while American Ale yeast gives this mild brown a clean finish. ABV = 5.2%

Shallow Mud Rye Stout (seasonal) – this stout has a complex malt profile featuring roast flavors balanced by caramel malts. Rye is used in small portions in the grain bill for added layers of flavor. This stout maintains those light roast flavors and a touch of caramel sweetness. ABV = 5.5%

My favorites were the darker ones overall. Mr. FeistyEats had a light New Minglewood Wheat, an American style wheat beer with a citrus finish. He isn’t a huge craft beer fan.

20131019_142920

Love the board and the nice, tiled backsplash where the chalk board taps were.

20131019_144048

You can see the stage area behind me where they often have live music. I really liked the atmosphere here. The employees were very friendly and when the one in the background noticed my husband taking my picture, he came over to take one of us and then the couple behind me (above) also had their photo taken. Thank you!

20131019_144124

Me and my Mr! I also loved their garage door that opens to the outdoors. It was open for a bit this day but had to be closed once it got busier and patrons had to sit close to it as they were cold. It was ALMOST nice enough for it to be open. I can imagine how refreshing it would be on a nice day.

20131019_142812

As I mentioned, there is a pizzeria next door that I have been wanting to try (Fireflour Pizza) and the brewery makes it very easy to order from them and dine in the brewery. They had a menu and everything sounded wonderful. A few patrons got pizza delivered and they looked and smelled amazing. I can’t wait to return and try it out. I already mentioned it to my Mom. But – we already had dinner plans and so that was the next stop.

20131019_155821

The Walrus is located in a non-descript strip mall, but don’t let the exterior fool you. Inside is a warm, inviting restaurant with quite good food! It is at 1136 N. 3rd St in Bismarck in the same strip mall where Ben Franklin used to be.

20131019_155829

Next to The Walrus is The Therapy Center which my husband found comical. Hey, what? I like beer!

20131019_160214

Here is the bar area in The Walrus, they seem to have a focus on their beer, but our server didn’t really push it or mention it. But – we did try a few food options. Here is what we had to start:

20131019_161612

Classic Tomato-Basil Bruschetta 7.99
Fresh Roma tomatoes, olive oil, fresh basil and garlic served with toasted bread and Parmesan cheese.

The Romas weren’t super red – but that is due to the season – but this dish was still super tasty. We ate every last bit. Yum!

I really couldn’t decide on a main dish so I went with a salad and a side. Hey, whatever works!

20131019_163801

Garlic Fries 5.99
A pound of shoestring fries, tossed with fresh garlic, parsley and olive oil.
 

These were so amazing. Big chunks of garlic. I didn’t need ketchup or anything. They had plenty of their own flavor. I don’t know if the fries were hand cut there (probably not?) but the spices/garlic made up for it. They also had a sweet potato option I would have liked but the Mr. isn’t a fan and I knew I’d share some. I’d order these again. Bring gum though!

20131019_163744

Signature Spinach 9.99
Fresh spinach with goat cheese fritters, red onion, dried cranberries, walnuts, bacon and warm bacon-Dijon dressing.

I would also order this salad again. I am not a huge bacon lover, but it was perfect here with the sweet cranberries and tangy goat cheese fritters. The star for me was the sauce. Yum. Please note my empty beer glass. Our waitress wasn’t the best, but she was all right.

20131019_163754

Not the best picture since you can’t see the inside but here is what the Mr. had. This was one the menu as a pizza, but you can turn any small pizza into a calzone. The menu notes a wait, but we couldn’t discern one.

Ben-Hur 9” – 11.99 / 14” – 18.99
Shrimp, spicy Italian sausage, red peppers, fresh spinach, roasted garlic and basil-pesto with mozzarella cheese and olive oil.

Overall, we would totally return. All that food and two beers was under $50. The food was very flavorful. I only wish we had a little more involved server, but overall it was just fine. It is nice to try something different that isn’t a chain.

We have so much fun exploring new to us places. Give them both a try!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Laughing Sun Brewery and The Walrus, Bismarck

  1. Katey911 says:

    I have found that common of the servers there, but the food keeps bringing me back.

  2. Pingback: Fireflour Pizza, Bismarck | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

