Healthy banana cookies

Okay, this definitely is not my typical dessert posting. I figure if you are going to have dessert, go all out and have what you want. Everything in moderation. But, lately I have been working out after work or early in the morning. If it is early, I don’t get up with enough time to make something, but I like to have something in my belly before sweating. If it is after work, I also like a bite because I know I won’t be eating dinner for another hour or two. Cookies to the rescue, but even I can’t eat a “regular” cookie before working out. Eww. So maybe banana bites would be a better name than cookies?

20131003_203019

Ingredients, adapted from Skinny Taste:

• 4 medium ripe bananas, mashed
• 2 cups of uncooked quick oats
• 1 heaping tsp. cinnamon
• 1/3 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray a non-stick cookie sheet with cooking spray or use a Silpat.
Combine the mashed bananas with cinnamon and oats in a bowl. Fold in the chocolate chips and place a tablespoon of each on the cookie sheet. Bake 15 minutes. Yield 36 cookies – you can fit 16 on each cookie sheet.

IMG_3813

I like to store them in the fridge and eat them cold. Perfect, healthy snack with not too many calories.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

