Potato Crust Quiche

This is a great twist on a traditional pastry crust quiche. I have had those before and while I like them, pie crust isn’t my favorite thing ever. I was excited to see the ideas out in blog land to use a potato crust quiche. I love potatoes and decided to use a lot of vegetables we have in our garden available to us. I based my recipe on this one from the Cookin’ Canuck. I love her ideas.

IMG_3784

This meal is great for breakfast, brunch, supper and it also hit the spot as leftovers for lunch the next day. I want to try this sometime using sweet potatoes in the crust and baking the crust ahead of time.

IMG_3774

Ingredients, recipe adapted from Cookin’ Canuck

The crust:

  • 2 1/2 cups peeled & grated potato
  • 1/4 cup grated red onion
  • 1/4 cup grated green pepper
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

The quiche:

  • 5 eggs
  • 1/3 cup milk
  • 3/4 tsp. paprika
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/4 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 1 cup grated zucchini
  • 1/3 lb. sliced, chopped deli ham
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomato
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 2 green onions, thinly sliced

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees F. Coat a 10-inch pie dish with cooking spray.
  2. With a paper towel or kitchen towel, squeeze the excess moisture out of the shredded potato, onion and pepper.
  3. In a medium-sized bowl, toss the shredded potatoes with the olive oil, salt and pepper.
  4. Transfer the potato mixture to the prepared pie dish, and press the potato evenly on the bottom and up the sides of the dish.
  5. Bake until the potatoes are golden brown on the edges, 20-22 minutes.
  6. Lower the oven heat to 375 degrees F.
  7. While the crust is baking, whisk the eggs and milk together in a large bowl. Whisk in the paprika, salt and pepper and red pepper flakes.
  8. With a paper towel or kitchen towel, squeeze the excess moisture out of the shredded zucchini.
  9. Stir the grated zucchini and ham into the egg mixture, and pour the entire mixture into the prepared crust.
  10. Sprinkle the tomatoes, feta cheese and green onions evenly over the egg mixture.
  11. Bake at 375 degrees F until the egg is set in the center and starting to brown, about 35 minutes.
  12. Let the quiche cool for at least 10 minutes so it sets up. Cut and serve.

IMG_3775

You don’t need a food processor for this recipe, but I highly recommend one unless you are great at using a hand shredder. Using the food processor took no time!

IMG_3776IMG_3777

This is where the time saving would come in handy to pre-bake your crust. I think if you cover it and put it in the fridge overnight, take it out to room temp and continue baking. Great for brunch!

IMG_3778IMG_3779

Before and after.

IMG_3781

I love all the colors. I especially loved the bites with the feta. Just enough to make you go hmmm?!

IMG_3787

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Breakfast, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Potato Crust Quiche

  1. Amanda Pansch says:

    YAY! Now I know what I am making for supper tonight!!!! Thanks for the idea, and I have all of those ingredients in the house! Even better! 🙂

  2. Andie Duncan says:

    VERY cool idea! I took my family off wheat this year (can you spell uphill battle? …) but now we can reclaim quiche! THANK YOU! 🙂

Leave a Reply

