Sausage and vegetable skillet dinner

I think it is always nice to cook your main meal in one skillet. No one likes dishes, right?

IMG_3731

I made this a couple weeks ago when my parents visited and I really enjoyed it. It is a hearty mix of meat, potatoes and veggies. This is definitely man approved and a great way to use up any garden veggies.

IMG_3727

Along with the skillet dinner, we dined on cucumber salad, grilled zucchini and cornbread. My mom also brought with watermelon and watermelon salad. Such a good dinner filled with summer produce.

IMG_3728

I don’t think I could have fit anything more into that skillet!

Ingredients, adapted from Taste of Home Magazine

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 4 venison sausage links (could sub other sausage), cooked *
  • 1/2 – 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 small red pepper, seeded and chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 teaspoon Montreal Steak seasoning or to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon Lawry’s seasoned salt or to taste
  • 6 medium red potatoes (about 2 pounds), thinly sliced
  • 4 ears corn, corn sliced off the cob
  • 1-1/4 cups chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 cup broccoli

Directions

  • In a 12-in. skillet or other huge pan, heat oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and pepper; cook and stir until onion is tender. Add garlic, pepper flakes and seasonings; cook 1 minute longer.
  • Add potatoes, corn, broth and pepper; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, covered, 12 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Add sausage and broccoli; cook until it is bright green, about another 5 minutes. Yield: 6 servings.

* You could use raw sausage, just add it to cook with the onion, I was using leftovers.

IMG_3729

As I stated, this is a good meat and potatoes dinner. If I was dining alone, I would have added more pepper flakes for a bit more of a kick but my Dad isn’t a spice fan. Use your seasonings to adjust as you like. The broth cooks the veggies and gives a nice taste with the onions and sweet corn. Feel free to mix it up with any veggies you have on hand.

IMG_3730

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

