Chunky Monkey Brownies

I got the urge to bake again! I have been really lazy with baking and ideas. So, I decided to start off easy with this recipe I saw online a while ago. It looked super yummy, but easy to make using a few box mixes. It is OK to do that once in a while.

20130823_075745

Double brownie layer with nuts, topped with banana pudding flavored frosting.

IMG_3676

Chunky Monkey Brownies based on the recipe from Glorious Treats by way of Confessions of a Cookbook Queen

Ingredients:

Brownies:
2 boxes dark chocolate brownie mix, plus eggs, oil and water called for on box
1 1/2 cups chopped walnuts

Frosting:
2 sticks salted butter, slightly softened
1 small box instant banana cream pudding
3 TBS heavy cream or milk
3 cups powdered sugar
1-2 ounces dark chocolate, chopped finely

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350. Line a 9×13 metal pan with foil. Spray bottom with nonstick spray and set aside.

2. In a large bowl, combine brownie mixes, eggs, oil, and water. Stir with a wooden spoon until completely mixed. Fold in walnuts. Spread in prepared pan and bake for about 45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes back clean. Let brownies cool completely.

3. Once brownies have cooled, make the frosting: In the bowl of your mixer, beat butter, milk, and pudding mix on medium speed until smooth. Set mixer to low and slowly beat in powdered sugar until just barely mixed. Add chocolate pieces and increase speed to high and beat for one minute until light and fluffy. Frost cooled brownies, cut and serve.

IMG_3677IMG_3678

I let my brownies cool outside while I whipped up the frosting!

IMG_3679

Frost when they are cooled and stick in the fridge overnight.

IMG_3681

Use a large knife to cut through these super thick brownies. Or use a plastic knife – that will always give you a clean cut. Seriously. I can’t remember where I heard that trick. I cut the left hand of these bars before I let them settle/cool completely. A no no. The right hand side I cut after they were cooled completely. It makes a difference but it is hard to keep your hands off of them.

IMG_3682

The yellow dog approves of these. He taste tested a walnut.

20130823_075749

I took these to share with my co-workers. They are super sweet so a small piece will do ya!

20130823_075800

They didn’t last long so I will take that as a good sign. I think it would be super yummy to swap out the banana pudding with white chocolate pudding. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chunky Monkey Brownies

  1. kate says:

    They look really good. I bet you will make so e more for I can have only one!!!!! Thank you.

Leave a Reply

