No-Bake Pretzel Peanut Butter Bars

A no-bake recipe. Who has time to bake in the summer? I am finding myself making less and less original items. I hope I have something to post here next week as I am just feeling uninspired in the kitchen. I think I just want to be outside enjoying the weather!

IMG_3626

This was an easy dessert with ingredients I had on hand so I went for it. It has all my favorite factors: peanut butter, butter, salty pretzels and powdered sugar. Sign me up!

IMG_3611

No-Bake Pretzel Peanut Butter Bars adapted from Nestle’s website

Ingredients
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • 2 cups peanut butter, divided
  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) butter, softened
  • 2 cups powdered sugar, divided
  • 4 cups (roughly ½-inch pieces), broken small pretzel twists, divided
  • 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided
  • 1 cup Heath toffee bits (optional)
Directions

LINE 13 x 9-inch baking pan with foil leaving an overhang on two sides. Lightly spray foil with nonstick cooking spray.
BEAT 1 1/4 cups peanut butter and butter in large mixer bowl until creamy. Gradually beat in 1 cup powdered sugar. Stir in remaining 1 cup powdered sugar, 3 cups pretzel pieces and 1/2 cup toffee bits. Press evenly into prepared baking pan. Smooth top with spatula or fingers.
MICROWAVE 1 1/2 cups semi-sweet morsels and 3/4 cup peanut butter in medium, uncovered, microwave-safe bowl on MEDIUM-HIGH (70%) power for 45 seconds; STIR. If necessary, microwave at additional 10- to 15-second intervals, stirring just until morsels are melted. Spread chocolate layer evenly over powdered sugar mixture. Sprinkle with the remaining pretzel pieces and toffee bits, pressing down lightly. Refrigerate for at least 3 hours or until firm. Lift from pan; peel off foil. Cut into 60 pieces. Store in covered container in refrigerator.

IMG_3612

The mixture is super thick and super tasty I might add.

IMG_3613IMG_3614

You will need to use your fingers to spread it into your cake pan. Top with the microwaved peanut butter. Note: I used a mix of creamy and chunky peanut butter as it was all I had on hand. It worked fine.

IMG_3615

Press your pretzel pieces into the melted chocolate. The salt, toffee and chocolate make for a very nice mouth feel.

IMG_3624

The recipe says to cut it into 60 bars and serve. HA HA. I think I did 24 bars. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

