Summer Corn Chowder

I love me some sweet summer corn. This is a great dish to make in advance for your work lunches or to even eat on a warm day – it is that good!

IMG_3610

The base mix get blended with a stick blender so it is very creamy. I topped it with fresh corn, basil and peppers to add texture and an extra pop of sweet corn.

IMG_3601

Summer Corn Chowder adapted from Better Homes and Gardens

  • 4 ears fresh sweet corn, husked and silks removed (about 4 cups of corn)
  • 1 poblano pepper, halved and seeded with membranes removed
  • 1 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 medium yellow onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. (heaping) cumin
  • 1 – 14oz. can chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp. AP flour
  • Salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 1/2 cups half-and-half or milk

1. Heat a grill to medium-high heat. Grill corn and pepper halves, cut sides down, 12-16 minutes, or until the pepper is charred and the corn is tender and has some color. Remove from grill. Wrap pepper in foil. When corn has cooled, cut kernels from cobs. Remove pepper from foil. Remove the skin and chop. Set aside.

2. In a large saucepan on medium heat, add oil. Add onion and cook until translucent; about five minutes. Add garlic and cook another minute. Add cumin, 3 cups of corn and the chicken broth. Bring to a boil; reduce heat and simmer for about 10 minutes, stirring on occasion.

3. In a small bowl, combine flour, salt and pepper. Stir in half-and-half (or milk) into the flour until smooth. Gradually stir into the chicken broth mixture. Cook and stir until slightly thickened and bubbling. Using an immersion blender, puree mixture until smooth or your desired consistency. Top with remaining grilled corn kernels and chopped pepper before serving. Makes 4 servings.

IMG_3600

I actually grilled the corn and peppers on a totally different day while the grill was on. I just set them aside, fully cooked in the fridge until I made this recipe. It worked great!

IMG_3602

I might have stolen a few chunks of corn. It is so super sweet and snappy!

IMG_3603

Add your flour/milk mixture to the corn/chicken stock base. Note that the original recipe called for less corn and added in a potato. I didn’t have potatoes so just used more corn and I still enjoyed it.

IMG_3604

I found this recipe in the Better Homes & Gardens issue and it is cheap to make, quick and low in calories and fat! What a winner. If you need to amp it up with some protein, try some diced up lean deli ham.

IMG_3605

I love Trish Yearwood and her Food Network cooking show. I’d like her to make me dinner please.

IMG_3607

I added a bit of fresh basil from my (sad and pathetic) herb garden. It added a nice, bright flavor.

IMG_3608

This is a perfect summer soup. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Grilling, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

