Oma’s Rhubarb Cake

So I don’t exactly know who Oma is but I think we’d get along! This was a super moist and delicious cake. I found the recipe on www.AllRecipes.com and I love that site. Another winner with this lightly adapted recipe.

IMG_3595

The cake is almost similar to a rhubarb bread, the addition of cinnamon gives it an extra nice surprise. Served with some simple vanilla ice cream you cannot go wrong. And as long as you have rhubarb, you probably already have the rest of the ingredients at your house. It is that simple.

IMG_3581

Oh and one quick tip – on a 90 degree day just put your cold items out on your patio and bring them to room temp in no time! Yes, I baked when it was 90 degrees out. I had guests and needed something to feed them.

IMG_3582

Look at that delicious rhubarb! My husband brought me home quite a bit so I took the hint to bake something rhubarb related. He loves a rhubarb dessert and told me I could make this again anytime!

IMG_3583

Oma’s Rhubarb Cake from Allrecipes, slightly adapted

CAKE

  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 4 cups diced rhubarb

Topping

  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 9×13 inch baking pan.

2. In a large bowl, beat the eggs until frothy, about 45 seconds on medium with a hand mixer. Add in sour cream and mix until incorporated. Add sugars, baking soda, salt and flour. Mix until just incorporated. Cake will be very thick. Add in your rhubarb and mix by hand. The juice from the rhubarb will thin the batter out some. Pour into the prepared pan and spread evenly. Using the same bowl, combine the sugars and butter with a fork. Add the flour and cinnamon and mix until it is somewhat crumb-like. Sprinkle the mixture on top of the cake.

3. Bake in the preheated oven until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean, about 45 minutes.

IMG_3584

I wanted to snap this photo so you could see how thick the batter was before adding the rhubarb. I was certain I did something wrong. By adding the rhubarb in it comes to the perfect texture.

IMG_3586

Here is the crumb topping.

IMG_3585IMG_3587

And above you can see the cake before the crumb mixture and after. This was right before I put it in the oven.

IMG_3588IMG_3589

Oh – I have to take a minute to share the most beautiful pot holder ever! I shared a few recipes with a co-worker who works at another location. She was so kind and sweet to send me this gorgeous potholder as a thank you. I love it and was so surprised and happy to receive this. I’ll put it to good use!

IMG_3591

Here is the cake after 45 minutes. Again, it kind of looks like rhubarb bread!

IMG_3597

Regardless if it is cake or bread – it is delicious, especially served with some vanilla ice cream on a warm day with ones you love. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

