Griddled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

I had to come up for a main course for Father’s Day a few weeks ago. I apparently got my love of seasonings and spice from my Mom. My Dad considers black pepper to be spicy. So I thought of things he loves – grilled cheese, hotdogs, mac n cheese – and thought I’d make some sweet and tangy ham and cheese sandwiches. This is really a crowd pleaser. Even for those who prefer spice, you just can’t go wrong with this!

IMG_3508

Father’s Day here in Hazen was a warmer day so I didn’t want to start my oven at all.

IMG_3501

I decided to toast my bread on one side using my electric skillet. I would finish the sandwiches later on the grill. I did this step before our guests arrived.

IMG_3502

Griddled Ham & Cheese Sandwiches

  • 14 slices of thick white toast, Texas-style
  • 7 Tbsp. softened butter
  • 2 1/2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1 Tbsp. yellow mustard
  • 3 1/2 Tbsp. Miracle Whip or May
  • 2 cups shredded Mozzarella cheese
  • About 1 lb. thinly sliced deli ham

Butter one side of each piece of bread with 1/2 Tbsp. butter. Griddle on medium-high heat and remove to wire rack to cool. Mix together honey and mustard {mix to your preference – more honey if want, or more mustard}. Spread about 1/2 Tbsp. mixture on 7 of the slices of bread and 1/2 Tbsp. or Miracle Whip on the other 7 slices. Top with thinly sliced ham and about 1/4 cup of cheese. Sandwich together bread with the griddled side facing out. Set aside. When you are ready throw on grill just until cheese melts.

*Note – you could completely make these on either just the electric skillet or grill. I wanted them super crunchy and this worked.

IMG_3503

Get the edges nice and brown. I love that bite when they crunch!

IMG_3504

As noted, mix your honey and mustard to your preference. Or just used honey mustard mix from the store.

IMG_3505

I found 1/4 cup cheese to be enough, but you could certainly pile on more. Never too much cheese. Right?

IMG_3509

Super crunchy and ready to eat. They disappeared pretty quickly! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Griddled Ham and Cheese Sandwiches

  1. tkniefel says:

    This recipe sounds absolutely delicious, and I’ve never thought about making sandwiches like this on the grill, or even the skillet for that matter! Sounds soooo yummy, and looks great! I too like to bite into crunchy sandwiches, and with the grill taste of the sandwiches, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! Thank you again for the recipe, I’m going to have to try this one soon … when it’s not too hott out of coarse!!

Leave a Reply

