Chocolate Rice Krispie Ice Cream Cake

Happy 4th of July America!! This dessert would be perfect for your 4th of July party! Or any summer weekend really. This is no-bake, no-fuss, comes together in minutes and hits the spot on a warm summer day. You have a chocolatey-peanut butter crust filled with ice cream and topped with a drizzle of chocolate and caramel sauce and a few chocolate chips. Easy peasy.

IMG_3574

I made this in a springform pan so the sides pop off and you can cut this cake easily.

IMG_3568

Chocolate Rice Krispie Ice Cream Cake – adapted from a Real Simple recipe

Ingredients
  • 1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 4 cups crisped rice cereal (such as Rice Krispies)
  • 1.75 quarts ice cream, softened (you don’t use all, but could if you wanted to)
  • Garnish with additional chocolate chips, caramel and chocolate syrup – nuts would also be good
Directions
  1. In a sauce pan over low heat, melt the chocolate chips and peanut butter until smooth. Remove from heat and add cereal. Mix until the cereal is completely coated. Transfer to a sprayed/greased 9-inch springform pan. Press the mixture into the bottom and up the sides of the pan. Set aside to firm up a bit for a few minutes. (If you don’t have a springform pan, I think a cake pan would work as well.)
  2. Spread the ice cream in the prepared crust. Top with whatever toppings/garnishes you like and freeze, covered, until firm, for at least 2 hours and up to 3 days. I recommend putting it together the day before and letting it freeze overnight.

IMG_3569

With the Cass-Clay competition (I know, I’ll shut up about it one day – it was a blast) I received several coupons for Cass-Clay ice cream. Ummm, OK! I love ice cream. I was making this cake to take to my parents as their birthdays are one week apart (well and 7 years). The whole family would be there and I wanted a general crowd pleaser. My husband and I picked out this Oil Patch Prairie Praline flavor. Once I got home, I looked at it closer and this was a Dream Flavor Contest Winner. I guess I am drawn to Cass-Clay contests or something?

IMG_3571

Obviously we had to sample this before serving it to our family! This was brown sugar and butter flavored ice cream with brownie chunks and chocolate syrup. This wouldn’t be what I would normally pick (mint every time, all the time) but it was a nice treat. I loved the brownie chunks!

IMG_3570

This is what your crust will look like. Just kind of spread it up the sides as a bowl for your ice cream.

IMG_3572

Fill up with the ice cream. I didn’t use all 1.75 quarts, but that just means more for me later. You probably could if you wanted to though. Top with chocolate syrup, caramel syrup and some extra chocolate chips. What an easy dessert that looks great!

2013-06-29_19-35-30_944

You can see on this side shot the nice thick crust with the ice cream inside. The peanut butter and chocolate base allow the cereal to harden, but not too much. It kind of reminded me of a Crunch chocolate bar.

2013-06-29_19-36-44_554

My slice! Get in my belly. Super easy – especially if you don’t like to cook or bake.

2013-06-29_07-28-29_921

A few bonus pics here. This is my parents back yard. Not a shabby view of the Missouri River, right? We loaded up their pontoon and went cruising/fishing for the day. It was wonderful. Perfect weekend.

2013-06-29_11-16-38_303

Put me on a boat and I am happy, happy, happy. I love the water.

2013-06-29_15-20-54_135

So does my dog Winston! He loves to fish. Seriously – he goes crazy for it. I have never seen anything like it. He did get one hook in his mouth as he was going for a fish and got the hook instead just as the fish got away. He was OK though. He has his own spot on my folks pontoon even. They are so nice to put up with the beast!

2013-06-29_16-58-03_275

See how tired fishing makes a dog?

IMG_3575

Oh, and the cat Brinklie came with too. We let her run around their place with no leash and she loves it!

2013-06-29_19-35-30_944

OK, enough about me. Make this cake – you won’t be sorry! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert, FeistyLife. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Rice Krispie Ice Cream Cake

  1. Marnie says:

    HI — Just ran across this and can’t wait to try this! I am the person who created that ice cream flavor. 🙂 It was a fun contest — I don’t think I’ve ever won anything before! Thanks for posting! Marnie Thielbar – Langdon

Leave a Reply

