Blueberry Cobbler

Is summer making an appearance? Am I talking too early probably? Who knows?!? But, I do know that I have seen berries on sale at the local supermarkets! Whoo hoo. I am not a huge fruit fan. Of course, unless it is surrounded by butter and sugar. Then I am in.

IMG_3473

This is not a traditional cobbler, but a mix between a cake and cobbler maybe? Whatever, it is good I know that. I want to try this with raspberries next! Blackberries, peaches, strawberries…I think almost any fruit would work. Frozen would also work, but I think fresh is preferred.

IMG_3469

Ideally, this would be served warm with ice cream! A super easy, totally typical summer dessert right here.

IMG_3464

Blueberry Cobbler, lightly adapted from the infamous Pioneer Woman. I made this at my Mom’s house. It is always fun to cook or bake in someone else’s house I think.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 stick butter, melted, plus more for greasing your dish
  • 1 1/4 cups plus 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup milk (2% or whole)
  • 1 pint fresh blueberries
  • Whipped cream and/or ice cream, for serving

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a 2-quart baking dish with butter.

In a medium bowl, whisk 1 cup sugar with the flour, baking powder, salt and milk. Whisk in the melted butter.

Rinse the blueberries and pat dry. Pour the batter into the baking dish. Sprinkle the blueberries evenly over the top of the batter. Sprinkle 1/4 cup sugar over the blueberries. Bake until golden brown and bubbly, about 1 hour. When 10 minutes of the cooking time remains, sprinkle the remaining 2 teaspoons sugar over the top. Top with whipped cream or ice cream if you have them on hand.

IMG_3465

In case you were worried, Winston acts the exact same at my Mom’s house as he does at my house. He lays right by the cook waiting for something to drop into his mouth. On that note, he likes blueberries!

IMG_3466

The batter is quite thin.

IMG_3467

Sprinkle the berries on top and then another 1/4 cup of sugar. If your berries are super sweet, you might want to cut back on the sugar.

IMG_3470

The edges get a little crisp and so does the extra sugar you sprinkled on top. But the inside is super gooey and yummy.

IMG_3472

Just like that. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

