Caprese Flatbread Pizza

Whoo-hoo! Another flatbread pizza recipe. I am on a roll making these babies. They are just so easy. This particular week, I took one of my personal favorite flavor profiles to make the pizza. You have seen these flavors (balsamic, tomato, fresh mozzarella) on this blog plenty of times before. Same concept, just on a flatbread.

IMG_3404

Here is a guideline for you if you want to make something similar.

IMG_3399

Caprese Flatbread Pizza

  • 3 Flatout pizza crusts
  • 1 chicken breast, seasoned, grilled and diced
  • 8 oz. of mozzarella pearls
  • 4 Roma tomatoes, seeded and chopped
  • 1/4 red onion, chopped
  • 2 small cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. dried basil
  • 1/2 tsp. dried Italian seasoning
  • Dash of olive oil
  • 1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

Divide your mozzarella into 4 equal sections. Reserve 3/4 of the mozzarella for the flatbread. Combine 1/4 of the mozzarella, tomatoes, red onion, garlic, dry seasonings and olive oil in a bowl. Stir to combine.

On the stovetop, heat the balsamic vinegar over medium-high heat until it reduces by about half and becomes thick and syrupy.

Lightly grill the flatbreads on each side to firm up the crust. Bring them in and add the chicken and mozzarella. Return to grill on low heat (I just use the top rack) to soften mozzarella and then bring them back inside. Add your tomato mixture to the top of the flatbreads, top with balsamic syrup and serve. You may have remaining tomato mixture. Just add a little of the balsamic syrup and save for a tomato salad the next day at lunch.

IMG_3400IMG_3401

This is a before and after. Can you tell? Not really. The mozzarella, acts and looks like marshmallows, they get a little bigger, and a lot more squishy. It doesn’t really melt like a cheddar would.

IMG_3402

Well, look who is lurking in the background! Mr. Winston always waiting!!

IMG_3403

I love fresh mozzarella and how it soaks up the balsamic syrup. So. Good. I should probably cut my flatbread in half before grilling. Regardless, I ate it all!

IMG_3405

Enjoy – I hope to come up with a few more flatbread recipes. This is such an easy summer dinner! I have a few ideas in my mind…

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caprese Flatbread Pizza

Leave a Reply

