Italian marinated veggie salad

Hello, there. Here is another super simple side idea that you can make to fit your preferences. I think I first had a version of this salad at my previous job in Fargo from my co-worker Amanda. When she told me all that was in it, I was pretty astounded how easy it was. I often buy something similar from Dan’s Supermarket in Bismarck and thought, why? I can easily make this at home!

IMG_3425

I usually just pick whatever veggies are on sale at Krause’s that particular week and make this salad. Just recently, the Vegetable Medley was on sale from those Steam in a Bag deals and I stocked up. I love those steam in a bag things (for convenience) but eating the veggies raw is also great.

IMG_3417

Italian Marinated Veggie Salad

  • About 5 cups assorted, chopped, fresh veggies (I used carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, red onion, green onion, celery and peppers)
  • About 1/2 cup Italian dressing/vinaigrette

Chop veggies. Put in a bowl. Pour on dressing. Combine and let it sit overnight.

That is it. That is all. I am almost embarrassed on how easy that is! I do think it gets even tastier after it soaks in the dressing! A quick idea on how I like to eat this below is below.

IMG_3418

Fresh veggies in the summer are so good. I don’t even like rare veggies in the winter I don’t think?

IMG_3419

I find this easiest to put the veggies in a bowl, pour the dressing on, cover the bowl and shake it like crazy.

IMG_3420

I highly recommend this dressing. It is a light version and has great spices including basil and Romano. I also like to use Green vinaigrette, but use whatever you like. Even plain ranch dressing would work. Yum!

IMG_3422

Winston looking at me while I chop veggies. Please disregard that box of beer off to the side in the back. I have no idea how that got there!

IMG_3423

OK, here is one way I like to eat these and I made this for breakfast one day. Take a baked potato (just nuke it in the microwave), add a little butter and/or cheese, top with marinated veggies and a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

IMG_3424

The mixes of the hot potato, cold veggies, soft potato and crisp veggies feel wonderful as you eat this easy dish! Of course, this goes great as a side to about any meal. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Salad, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

