Brownie Fruit Pizza

Pizza! Who doesn’t love pizza? Well, this is a nice dessert pizza on a fudgy, brownie base. Great idea, right?

IMG_3439

My husband asked how I come up with my recipes. Sometimes they just pop in my mind. I thought of this, Googled it and there are lots of recipes for something like this. I just found one and tweaked it to what I preferred that day.

Sliced just like a pizza pie – this would probably even be totally acceptable for breakfast. I mean it does have fruit! Of course, you can be all Suzy Homemaker and make your own homemade brownie crust, whip the cream, etc. But it was nice this day! Ain’t nobody got time for dat!

IMG_3436

Look at it with all the gorgeous, summer colors. Ok, let’s get to it! This came together very easily.

IMG_3430

Brownie Fruit Pizza based on a recipe from Very Best Baking

  • 1 package 13 x 9 chewy fudge brownie mix (I used and recommend Duncan Hines dark chocolate fudge brownies 13×9 family size baked in the fudgy option)
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 large egg
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 cup (6 oz.) semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided
  • 1 8-oz. container whipped topping
  • 2 Tbsp. honey (optional, powdered sugar would also work)
  • 3 cups fresh fruit and berries of choice (I used one 8 oz. can crushed, drained pineapple, 2 sliced bananas, 2 sliced kiwis and about 1/4 lb. sliced strawberries)
  • 1/4 cup toasted, sweetened flaked coconut
Directions

Preheat oven to 350° F. Grease a 14-inch-round pizza pan. The original recipe also states a 15×10 jelly roll pan will work. Combine the brownie mix, oil, egg and water in a medium bowl and blend as box specifies. My mix had an option for cake-like or fudgy (the fudgy had one less egg) so just make sure to follow the brand you purchase. After it is combined, hand stir in 3/4 cup of the chocolate chips. Spread into prepared pizza pan. Bake as your box specifies, mine took about 17 minutes or until your edges are set and the middle doesn’t jiggle. Cool for at least 1 hour. Combine your whipped topping and honey. Spread whipped topping over brownie crust. Top with fruit. Sprinkle with remaining 1/4 cup morsels and coconut. Serve immediately or refrigerate up to 1 hour before serving.

IMG_3431IMG_3432

Before baking and after! I love having a weekend all to myself where I can get up and bake early before it gets too warm.

IMG_3434

This pizza pie is ready for fruit! I used strawberries, kiwis, pineapple and bananas. Use whatever you like or have on hand. I think it would be good with just strawberries and bananas!

IMG_3435

He wants in (FOOD, FOOD) and she wants out (BIRDS)! Yes, I have a baby gate for my cat. She is vicious on patio screens. And any screen for that matter. Anyone want a cat?

IMG_3437

Here is the pizza pie ready for eating!

IMG_3442

My first slice is always the toughest to cut out. I never do well! A pizza cutter does work great here though. Thank you to my hand model, my Mom, as well.

IMG_3441

Thin, fudgy brownie crust, sweet whipped topping and all natural fruit to round out this perfect summery dessert. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

