Taco Dip Casserole

Wednesday’s are my favorite day to read the newspaper. This is the day when most of the ND papers have recipes featured. Now sometimes, it is nothing much that I care about. But this past week, the recipes in the Tribune featured tacos. Seeing how I am on a huge Mexi flavor kick lately, this was right up my alley.

IMG_3412

I took the recipe listed in the Bismarck Tribune and tweaked it to what I had on hand/preferred. I think this is a great method for cooking. Make it how YOU like it! I call this Taco Dip Casserole because it really does taste like dip, aka, delicious. ALSO, this could be made as a one-skillet dish. I should have thought that out. The skillet I used was not oven proof.

IMG_3406

Taco Dip Casserole – based on a recipe listed in the Bismarck Tribune from McCormick seasonings. This generously serves 6.

  • 1 lb. lean ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 package taco seasoning mix (and water called for it)
  • 1/4 cup pickled jalapenos, chopped
  • 1 can (16 oz.) fat free refried beans
  • 1 can Ro-tel (14-16 oz. or non-name brand is fine too)
  • 1 package frozen Southwestern Corn – I used Birds Eye, canned would also work; I like the southwestern mix as it comes with onions and peppers
  • 1 cup shredded cheddar or Mexican cheese
  • 1 cup coarsely crushed tortilla chips
  • TOPPINGS: sour cream, green onions, red onions, fresh tomatoes and pickled jalapenos, etc.

Preheat oven to 400F. Brown your meat in a large skillet on medium-high. Once it starts to brown add in your chopped onion and garlic. Once meat is completely cooked add in your jalapenos and taco seasoning mix. Follow your taco packet and mix with water as needed. Once that is combined, add beans, Ro-tel, and corn. Mix to combine and heat this through until it is all bubbling and hot. Reduce heat to low and simmer for 5 minutes. Spoon into a 2.5Liter dish (or keep in your oven proof skillet) and sprinkle with cheese and tortilla chips. Bake for 10-12 minutes until cheese is melted. Serve with assorted toppings. Leftovers reheat well in the microwave.

IMG_3407

Don’t be like me. I inadvertently used a can of nearly whole tomatoes and had to chop them. Oh well, no biggie.

IMG_3408

Once you get everyone in the skillet, this sucker is heavy!

IMG_3409

I loved this lightly seasoned Southwestern Corn. It worked great in this dish!

IMG_3411

Here is my casserole straight out of the oven. I made a little plate of goodies for toppings.

IMG_3414

Dish up and dress to your preference.

IMG_3415

This one is most definitely man approved and it is a fun twist on tacos. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taco Dip Casserole

  1. Pingback: Meal prepping tips | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

