Asian Pork Kebobs

If I have time, I like to meal plan. Get all my meal ideas in order, make sure I have all the groceries I need and stick to that plan, hoping for leftovers that I can take to work the next day. To start meal planning I generally look over the Krause’s ad and see what meat or veggies are on sale. Last week, it was pork chops so I made a few pork meals.

IMG_3445

I have a fridge full of veggies, so I decided to make Asian pork kebabs with stir fried veggies and brown rice. Easy. I have some pork tacos I plan to make this week as well. Making meals is super easy as long as you put in a little advance planning and thought.

IMG_3426

These fresh, bone-in pork chops were on sale for $1.99/pound at Krause’s, so I bought a pack and broke it down as needed. I kept two chops whole with the bone-in and sprinkled them with pork seasoning and a bit of Italian dressing. I put them in an air-tight bag to grill on a future date and stuck them in the freezer. I cut the bone and all visible fat pieces out of the other four chops. Yeah, it takes time and kind of sucks, but for the price, you can’t beat it. Of the remaining four chops, half of the meat is set aside for tacos and the other half for these kebabs!

IMG_3428

Pork kebab marinade

  • 1 lb. chopped lean pork in about 1” cubes
  • 1/2 of an onion, cut into large quarters for kebabs
  • 1/2 cup low sodium soy sauce
  • 3 Tbsp. seasoned rice vinegar
  • 3 Tbsp. water
  • 1 Tbsp. cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. sriracha
  • 1/2 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 green onions, chopped

Combine all the ingredients above, except for the pork and regular onions. Set aside 1/2 cup of your marinade for your stir fry veggies if making any. Pour marinade oven chopped pork and let it marinade at least an hour or overnight. Skewer kabobs alternating pork with a slice of onion. Grill until done. Serve over rice and/or stir fried veggies. These would be fine served with a salad or on their own as an appetizer even.

If making stir fry veggies, make as you normally do and at the end, pour in your reserved marinate. This helps to deglaze your pan and flavor your veggies.

IMG_3429

Just put your pork into a zip top bag and let the meat marinate. The little dish below is set aside for my stir fry veggies. For my veggie stir fry, I used the following vegetables: onions, green onions, celery, peppers, broccoli and cauliflower. I also steamed some brown rice in a bag to serve the pork and veggies on.

IMG_3443

Skewer your marinated pork with slices of onion. The onion gets nice and sweet on the grill.

IMG_3444

We had two full kebabs of meat. This made enough for 2 suppers and 2 packed leftovers. And yes, those are the bones on the left. I got to keep those for my (spoiled) dog.

IMG_3446

I took the meat and onions off the kebobs and served them on warm rice with veggies on the side. I added more sriracha on top. I love the heat!

IMG_3447

Give this a try! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

