BBQ Chicken Flatbread Pizza with Cole Slaw

This was such a delicious meal on a warm spring day. It was easy and had tons of fresh flavors. I thought I’d share the technique and you can make this up to suit your tastes.

IMG_3393

First of all, I have to say I am totally addicted to Flatout Wraps. They have so many flavors. I found these pizza wraps at Hornbacher’s when I was shopping and visiting Fargo. Yes, I visit grocery stores when I am in other cities. I am weird. These are thin crust pizza breads and they are seasoned and low in calories. I picked the Spicy Italian which featured a heavy hand of dried red peppers. I loved these flatbreads! They do sell the Fold-Its and Wraps in the deli section at Krause’s and I highly recommend them. I make a wrap almost everyday for lunch. The Light Original is my favorite – only 90 calories and super soft.

IMG_3386

I hope to keep up my recipes this summer, but quite honestly I don’t feel like baking as much and try to spend most of my time outdoors. Maybe you will just see me posting a few meal ideas or other activities I do. But I am sure to keep posting something.

BBQ Chicken Flatbread Pizza

  • 2 Spicy Italian Flatout Pizza Flatbread (any other wraps or flatbread would also work)
  • 1/2 cup mustard based BBQ sauce
  • 1 grilled chicken breast, sliced
  • 1/4 grilled red onion, sliced
  • 1/2 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup coleslaw mix
  • 3 Tbsp. mustard – we used a homemade spicy honey mustard
  • Fresh toppings to taste – green onion and tomatoes

Grill your flatbread on both sides to firm up the bread. Cover with BBQ sauce, sliced grilled chicken (I grilled in advance so it was ready to go), red onion and cheese. Place back on your grill to heat up and allow cheese to melt. Top with cole slaw (we added mustard to ours instead of a mayo based cole slaw) and fresh veggies. Inhale!

IMG_3387

This is the BBQ sauce we used which was a gift to us. I tried to look up the website listed on the bottle, but no results. Anyway, something mustard based is lovely if you can find it. Regular BBQ sauce would be fine as all. I love the tang of mustard and vinegar.

IMG_3388

I lightly grilled some red onions to soften them a bit and added them along with the chicken and some cheese. Back to the grill they go!

IMG_3389

We took some bagged coleslaw mix and mixed it with a spicy honey mustard (which we purchased at a bar in Lisbon, ND and it is SO good. The chef would not share her recipe though!) and topped the pizza. Finally we added some green onions and tomatoes. Notice Winston in the background…

IMG_3390

He wanted to say HELLO. What a sweet dog.

IMG_3391

Or maybe he wanted a bite?

IMG_3392

I have 4 flatbreads remaining in the pack and I already have a few ideas of other pizzas to whip up. This was so flavorful and not nearly as heavy as regular pizza. Give it a try!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BBQ Chicken Flatbread Pizza with Cole Slaw

  1. beth says:

    the store has the big lavosh back in stock…. love it & for everything and can’t wait to try this recipe on them

Leave a Reply

