Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

These bars were a hit with everyone I shared them with and I bet you have all you need in your pantry. They were super quick to put together and I will be making these again for certain because they are so easy.

IMG_3262

We have a puffy oatmeal layer, creamy and sweet peanut butter middle and topped with an oatmeal streusel and chocolate chips.

IMG_3254

Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars – makes 20 bars, recipe based on the recipe given to me from my co-worker, Mary

2 cups quick-cooking oats
1 3/4 cups firmly packed light brown sugar
1 1/2 cups AP flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup butter
1 cup (6 oz. pkg.) semi-sweet chocolate chips (any size would be fine, I used mini)
1 large egg, beaten
1 (14 oz.) can sweetened condensed milk
1/2 cup creamy peanut butter

HEAT oven to 350°F. Combine oats, brown sugar, flour, baking powder and baking soda in large bowl. Cut in butter with pastry blender or your hand until mixture resembles crumbs.

RESERVE 1 1/2 cups crumb mixture. Stir egg into remaining crumb mixture. Press onto bottom of 13 x 9-inch baking pan using greased hands.

BAKE 15 minutes.

STIR together sweetened condensed milk and peanut butter in small bowl until well combined. Pour evenly over partially baked crust.

STIR together reserved crumb mixture and chocolate chips. Sprinkle evenly over peanut butter layer.

BAKE another 15 minutes. Cool completely and cut into bars.

IMG_3255IMG_3256

The recipe says to cut in the butter with a pastry cutter, but I used my best tools – my hands!

IMG_3257IMG_3258

Bake the bottom layer and prepare the middle and the topping just gets set aside.

IMG_3259IMG_3260

Back in the oven it goes and you are done. Easy!

IMG_3261

Cut into bars and serve once they have completely cooled.

IMG_3263

The middle is so nice and soft and the chocolate chips are the perfect topping. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars

  1. Melisa R says:

    Oh my… WOW! My mouth is watering. What a wonderful recipe!

  2. kate says:

    Easy to make and oh so good.

Leave a Reply

