How To: Make an Excellent Salad

OK, I think we needed a break from desserts. I don’t actually eat those desserts myself and do try to stick to a fairly healthy diet during the workweek. As spring time is approaching, my taste buds for salad really get going. I really, really love salads, but I can’t stomach them much in winter when the veggies aren’t super fresh. Luckily, the produce is getting better and better every week. Here are some tips on what I think makes a good salad.

IMG_3144

Making an excellent salad:

  • Start your base off with anything other than iceberg lettuce. Iceberg lettuce is so boring and is mostly water. I love spinach, mixed spring greens or even romaine lettuce. Ban the iceberg!!
  • Top with various cut up veggies. I like broccoli, cauliflower, green onions, carrots, tomatoes, etc. One tip is to cut the veggies into small pieces. If you have kids that aren’t crazy about veggies they likely won’t like big hunks of broccoli. But when cut up, they aren’t as daunting and a small bite isn’t so bad.
  • Add some cheese. A little goes a long way, but it is a nice component. Shredded cheese is easy. Feta or fresh mozzarella are my super special favorite cheeses.
  • Protein. If you are only having a salad for lunch I like to double up the protein. Try one hard-boiled chopped egg along with meat or beans. I like to use chicken or turkey as toppings.
  • Keep it fun. Add some sunflower seeds, a few croutons or nuts. In season avocado is yummy and creamy while giving you a healthy fat.
  • Keep dressing limited. Many dressing (I am looking at you Ranch) are filled with bad fats. Try a vinaigrette or homemade dressing where you control the fat.
  • Top with fresh cracked black pepper or. Mrs. Dash.
  • If you like pickles, add them to your salad. They are a great sour and salty addition.

My biggest tip would be to prep! Cut a bunch of veggies at once and keep in containers for when you need a salad. It is a pain to cut everything up, but you will thank yourself throughout the week when it is easy to just grab what you need and go.

IMG_3142

One tip for your meat – make it yourself. Deli meats can be kind of slimy and uncertain. I like to use these chicken tenders (you can get these at a fairly affordable price at Sam’s Club or on sale at Krause’s) and season them to my liking. These are covered in spicy mustard and baked. Some other ideas would be Mexican spices, Indian spices, grilling spices, BBQ sauce, honey mustard, garlic and on and on. You can have a new flavor every week. I just bake these up and chop for future use. I like them on the salad cold, but you could reheat in the microwave and top on your salad.

IMG_3143

So basically, once you have all these delicious and fresh ingredients on your salad – you won’t even know it is a salad! There are greens under there, I swear! Enjoy – spring IS coming.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Feisty Eats, How To, Main Dish, Salad, Sides. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How To: Make an Excellent Salad

  1. Amanda says:

    Hey Girl! I am totally in love with salads also! Have one almost everyday! 🙂 I was gonna tell you since we don’t live in a warm climate and we can’t garden all year round. 😦 You should check out Bountiful Baskets (BB). http://www.bountifulbaskets.org They just started a location here in Ortonville last week and I ordered to check it out and I was SOOOOO HAPPY with what I got! So fresh and cheap! I also volunteered and it was simple and quick. Many volunteers showed up, so many hands made light work. I see they have a location in Beulah, not sure how far away that is but it is worth checking out! 🙂 E-mail me if you have any more questions on it.

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Hey thanks so much Amanda! Great to hear from you. I really wish I lived closer to you so I could have a workout/drinking buddy! Beulah is super close so I’ll give it a try. I love fresh veggies. Thanks for the tip and take care!

  2. Katey911 says:

    I typically shun “typical” dressings when eating salads at home, which is almost nightly during the week. For some reason when I’m home I prefer eating a salad with my fingers (don’t judge!). Lately though I’ve been using a touch of light sour cream, which we ALWAYS have on hand, as my dressing. Goes with a number of different proteins, adds a nice flavor, but isn’t as calorie-laden as other dressings.

Leave a Reply

