Lemon Meringue Pie

At the end of March was the Taste of Hazen at City Hall. Every year they have a pie auction to raise money. I wanted to help, so I made two pies, including this one!

IMG_3176

I was kind of intimated to make a meringue pie, but it was super easy!

206330[1]

Not my pie – I got this picture from AllRecipes so you could see the inside

IMG_3165

Lemon Meringue Pie – adapted from AllRecipes – make your meringue first

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons cornstarch
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups water
  • 2 lemons, zested
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice (about 3 lemons)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 4 egg yolks, beaten
  • 1 (9 inch) pie crust, baked
  • 4 egg whites
  • 6 tablespoons white sugar

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

2. To Make Lemon Filling: In a medium saucepan, whisk together 1 cup sugar, flour, cornstarch, and salt. Stir in water, lemon juice and lemon zest. Cook over medium-high heat, stirring frequently, until mixture comes to a boil. Stir in butter. Place egg yolks in a small bowl and gradually whisk in 1/2 cup of hot sugar mixture. Whisk egg yolk mixture back into remaining sugar mixture. Bring to a boil and continue to cook while stirring constantly until thick. Remove from heat. Pour filling into baked pastry shell.

3. To Make Meringue: In a large glass or metal bowl, whip egg whites until foamy. Add sugar gradually, and continue to whip until stiff peaks form. Spread meringue over pie, sealing the edges at the crust.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes, or until meringue is golden brown.

IMG_3166IMG_3167

Separate your egg whites and yolks. I made the meringue first so it was ready to go when the filling was done. I highly suggest this step.

IMG_3168

I kind of like this photo. But it was a reminder that it took me 3 lemons to get a 1/2 cup of juice.

IMG_3173IMG_3174

The lemon part of the pie comes together on the stovetop with the cornstarch, flour and egg yolks doing their thing to thicken this up. My kitchen smelled so lovely!

IMG_3175IMG_3177

Bake your pie for 10 minutes to get those pretty peaks all toasted. To get those peaks, I just took a small spatula and placed it on the meringue and pulled back to make a little peak.

IMG_3178

I hope whoever got this pie enjoyed it!

Oh No! I guess the person who bought this pie accidentally dropped it. Well, I don’t want that pie to go to waste. I saw another Lemon Meringue Pie on FoodNetwork and I am going to try that one to post here and give to her. I’ll report back on that one.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Pie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

