Ho Ho Cake

Oh boy! I have A LOT of dessert recipes coming up. I have been attending a few events where I needed to bring desserts and as usual, I looked into my list of “to-make” desserts and tried out some new ones. This one was a winner. Super great and who doesn’t like a dessert with TWO layers of frosting?!?

IMG_3042

Soft, moist Devil’s Food Cake layer on the bottom, mild white frosting and super sweet chocolate frosting. These bars are similar to the Ho Ho’s by Little Debbie – you know, those ones that are swirled treats of goodness? Yep, those!

IMG_3030

Ho Ho Cake from Brown Eyed Baker, modified a bit by me

Ingredients:

For the Cake:
1 box Devil’s Food Cake mix
1 box chocolate fudge instant Jell-O pudding
4 eggs
1 cup milk
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup vegetable oil

For the Filling:
1¼ cups whole milk
5 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
½ cup salted butter
½ cup vegetable shortening

For the Icing:
3 cups powdered sugar
½ cup salted butter, melted and cooled to room temperature
3 ounces semisweet chocolate, melted and cooled slightly
2 tablespoons whole milk
2 tablespoons hot water
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

1. Make the Cake: Mix all ingredients together for 30 seconds on low and then beat for 2 minutes on medium/high and bake in a 10×15-inch jelly roll pan, greased and/or floured, as instructed on the box. Cool to room temperature.

2. Make the Filling: Meanwhile, combine the milk and flour in a small saucepan and cook over low heat, whisking constantly, until the mixture thickens to the consistency of pudding, about 5 to 8 minutes. Set aside and cool to room temperature.

3. Cream together the sugar, butter and shortening on medium speed until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. Add the cooled flour/milk mixture and beat on high for 7 minutes. Spread on the cooled cake and refrigerate until set.

4. Make the Icing: In a large bowl, mix together all of the icing ingredients on medium-high speed until creamy and smooth. Spread over the filling on the cake and serve. Cover leftovers with plastic wrap and refrigerate.

IMG_3031IMG_3032

The cake before and after. I love using a few additional ingredients to modify a box cake mix. This is super easy and always turns out great.

IMG_3033

I have to say, I did not use this recipe for the white frosting. I have made one similar before so I think it would be super tasty here. I had some leftover buttercream from cupcakes I made, so I used that instead.

IMG_3034

This chocolate frosting turned out delicious!

IMG_3035

All frosted and ready to be cut.

IMG_3041

If you are a fan of Ho Ho’s you should really make these! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ho Ho Cake

  1. mydearbakes says:

    Awww, this looks so delicious! Thanks for sharing! =)

Leave a Reply

