Fanatics of Beulah

So, living in little old Hazen, we have few options for dining. Sue’s Café isn’t open in the evenings anymore. There is Hot Stuff/D’Andreas or Jimmy’s Pizza. All of those are fine, but I really miss my bar/grill restaurants and happy hour specials I partook in often when I was living in Fargo.

2013-03-21_17-23-48_830

Just recently a new restaurant opened in Beulah next to the AmericInn in the space that used to be the Loony Bin. The restaurant is called Fanatics (I couldn’t find a website or Facebook page yet) and is operated by the same person who operates Knights Bar and Grill in Riverdale.

2013-03-21_17-34-15_687

We have eaten at Knights several times and had mostly pleasant experiences. I do know some people who have not had great experiences with the food or service. That menu features appetizers, burgers, pizzas (not the best in our opinion), baskets and panini sandwiches. They are also known for their spicy/sweet pickles. They also have main entrees such as steaks, walleye, pasta, salads, shrimp, etc., but I have not tried those items. They do have a brunch but we haven’t tried that…yet!

Going in, most local people know this person owns both places. My date and I were expecting a similar menu but this menu is different. My date was a little bummed as he loves the Schoolhouse Panini you can get at Knights. When we arrived, we saw the parking lots was full. This is to be expected since it is new and the area really needs a good place to eat. When we got to the door, we saw they open at 5pm so then I was very surprised to see all the cars and people there. We were greeted immediately upon entering by 3 gals and were seated right away in the bar area. Our server was very nice and attentive. She suggested the potato nachos as a starter. We didn’t want an appetizer but did enjoy the complimentary popcorn they offered.

We started with a beer – Honey Weiss for me and a Bud Light for him. The beers are huge – 25 oz. each and mine was $5.50 and his was $4.50. At first I thought that was kind of high, but on second thought, these are pretty massive beers! They have several beers on tap (yeah!) but not Miller Lite which I found kind of odd.

2013-03-21_18-01-24_965

I wasn’t terribly hungry so I went with buffalo wings for my meal off of the appetizer portion of the menu. They had a few flavors to pick from but I went with traditional buffalo, bone-in wings. The menu said you got 1 lb. for $9. The wings were big in size, super moist and juicy and sauced just right – not too much or too little. My date agreed they were good. We both prefer to get carrots with wings and I skipped the celery.

He ordered a buffalo chicken pita and it was just OK. Nothing special and it was a bit dry. He asked for a side of ranch dressing to put on the pita and that made it better. The fries were fine. He would probably get something else next time. Both the manager (I assume) and the owner were in the bar area and we visited briefly with both.

The menu featured appetizers, some good-sounding burgers, pita sandwiches, flatbread pizza and entrees such as steak, seafood, etc.

2013-03-21_18-01-39_383

The place was very clean and had several televisions showing sports. In an adjacent room were a couple pool tables and a dart machine. There were kids dining in both of these areas which I found a little odd? I suspect that they might open a family-friendly section where you see a door under the neon sign above. It looked like they were working in there. There is also a banquet room which we didn’t check out. I also forgot to check out the restrooms! I always like to see what they are like. I am a bit weird I guess.

Overall, we were happy with our experience and will return. I was bummed to see there were NO specials. No happy hour appetizers or beer specials. Perhaps this will come with time? They were very adequately staffed and service was quick. It is hard not to compare the two restaurants. I have also had the wings at Knights (super good) but they are only about $6.50 there (if I remember correctly) while they were $9 here. Maybe the portion size is bigger? I did feel it was a little expensive maybe, but not outrageous.

I really hope they do well and stay open! I bet a happy hour menu would definitely help!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in FeistyLife, Restaurant Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

