Carrot Cake Trifle

Oh, how I wish I had better pictures of this dessert! It was a fun one to make! However, it was baked after dinner and assembled before breakfast…all before daylight savings time. So please bear with me. The idea is still here!

IMG_3057

I made (actually created on my own!) this dessert for Mr. FeistyEats birthday treat at work back in February. He wanted a carrot cake, but I made one not too long ago, so this was the alternative. It looks fancy, but is so much easier than baking and frosting a cake. I was pressed on time, so took some boxed mix help. I think homemade is #1, but let’s be real. I just don’t have time people!! I have to work, have a semi-social life, take care of 2 pets, clean this crazy house, etc.

IMG_3049

For the Carrot Cake

  • 1 box Classic Yellow cake mix
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 2 cups shredded carrots
  • 1 – 8oz. can pineapple chunks
  • 2/3 cup coconut
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips (1 bag, divided to use below)

Put all ingredients in a bowl. Mix on low speed for 30 seconds. Mix for 2 more minutes on medium. Put into greased 9×13 and bake for about 30-35 minutes or until the toothpick test works.

For the Layers:

  • 1/2 cup of caramel ice cream topping
  • 1 box cheesecake Jell-O instant pudding
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 cup of Cool Whip
  • 1/2 cup toasted walnuts
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 1 container (8 oz.) of Cool Whip

Mix together the pudding, milk, Cool Whip and cinnamon. Let it set up and set aside.

To assemble the cake – cut the cake in small squares and put a layer of cake on the bottom of a trifle dish. Top with 1/3 of the pudding mix, 1/3 of the pudding mix, 1/3 of the caramel, 1/3 of the walnuts, 1/3 of the Cool Whip and 1/3 of the white chocolate chips. Repeat until you get to the top (ending with all the non-cake ingredients). Cool in the fridge until serving. Store any leftovers in the fridge.

IMG_3050

The night before, I made a carrot cake using a boxed mix and just fancied it up a bit. Let it cool completely.

IMG_3051IMG_3052

I also got together the pudding layer and just kept it in the fridge overnight.

IMG_3053

The next morning, (see the clock 7am) assemble your ingredients and start layering.

IMG_3054IMG_3055IMG_3056IMG_3057

Go until you are at the top. This tricks everyone out! It looks so fancy, but is so easy!

IMG_3058

The cake is super moist and slightly spicy. Mixed with the pudding and Cool Whip you get a tasty treat.

Get in my belly! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Carrot Cake Trifle

  1. Looks great! I hate it when I create something and then think “man, why didn’t I take better photos!!” However, I think you captured it fine! This will be a must try for me!

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Thank you so much and thank you for reading. I hope you do give it a try it was pretty easy! Hopefully I will get some more daylight hours with the daylight saving time!

Leave a Reply

