Pepperoni Pizza Bubbles

OK! Let’s start this week out with an appetizer. This is a great recipe for dinner or an appetizer, really. I actually printed off a recipe and was going to follow it as written, until I got going and saw that I had already screwed up the recipe and made it my own. They turned out great though!

IMG_3089

Bubbles of biscuits – but on the inside is pepperoni and cheese. I bet kids would love these.

IMG_3082

Based off a recipe on the Pillsbury website

Pepperoni Pizza Bubbles

  • 4 Tbsp. butter, melted
  • 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1 can (1 lb.) Pillsbury Grands! Flaky Layers Original – 8 count, split in two with your hands
  • 32 slices of pepperoni – about 3 oz.
  • 8 oz. mozzarella cheese, cut into 16 pieces
  • 1/4 grated parmesan cheese
  • Pizza sauce for dipping
  • Heat oven to 350°F. Spray a 9×13 cake pan with baking spray. In small bowl, mix melted butter, Italian seasoning and garlic powder.
  • Separate all the biscuits and then separate them in HALF so you have 16 biscuits; press or roll each into 3-inch round. Place 2 pepperoni slices in center of each biscuit round. Top each with piece of mozzarella cheese. Bring dough up around filling; press edge to seal and shape each into ball. Roll in butter mixture; place in pan, seam side down.
  • Sprinkle dough balls with Parmesan cheese. Pour remaining butter mixture over top.
  • Bake 30 to 35 minutes or until golden brown. Cool 5 minutes. Serve warm with warm pizza sauce for dipping.

IMG_3083IMG_3084

I think it is best to get all your ingredients out and organized and go from there. Place your biscuits seam side down. I didn’t do that on two of mine and they turned out fine, but looked a little goofy.

IMG_3085IMG_3086

If it looks like your biscuit won’t fit around the filling, just stretch it out more. I also sprinkled the top of my biscuits with some homemade dried peppers. Yummy, probably not kid friendly.

IMG_3087IMG_3088

Here are the biscuits when cooked. A little browned and all puffed up. I selected one to taste that was the “goofy” one – seam side not down. If they are seam side down, they look more like a bubble!

IMG_3089

Serve with warmed pizza sauce. Your guests will be surprised when they bite into them!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Dinner, Entertainment, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pepperoni Pizza Bubbles

  1. Lewis Skiles says:

    This really is a fun recipe. I also got it from Pillsbury, but it was called Pizza Bubble Ring and called for two cans of regular biscuits. I do like the ring part of it, as I make it in my Pampered Chef Fluted Stoneware pan (like a bundt pan) and then turn it out on to a plate. Makes for a nice presentation. Thanks for all your great ideas, the funfetti dip recipe is still sitting on my desk waiting for me to get my sweet-tooth on!

  2. Feisty Eats says:

    Thanks for reading Lewis! I bet that does make a nice presentation. I might have to try that!

Leave a Reply

