Greek Layer Dip

My cousin recently moved into her brand new house in Towner. I was very anxious to visit the home since it had been a longtime coming! Well, my Mom and Grandma made plans to visit and I secretly tagged along. I can’t really go all the way there without any food, right?! We both love Greek Flavors, so I came up with a Greek Layer Dip, a take on the Taco Layer Dip.

IMG_2864

I don’t have any pictures prior to us digging in but you can see it is similar to any layer dip.

IMG_2844

I want my base layer to be a tzatziki sauce, but I didn’t have any. So I made my own! Plain Greek yogurt would also work. Tzatziki is a traditional Greek appetizer and/or sauce made of Greek yogurt, cucumbers, garlic, salt, olive oil, lemon juice and dill.

Sarah’s Tzatziki Sauce

  • 1 6-8 oz. container plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 of a seeded, finely diced, peeled cucumber
  • 1 minced garlic clove
  • sprinkle of black pepper
  • splash of lemon juice
  • 1/2 – 1 tsp. dried dill, depending on your flavor preference
  • 2 tsp. olive oil or Greek vinaigrette

Combine all ingredients and chill until ready for use.

IMG_2849IMG_2850

The tzatziki all finished. Again, you can purchase this or just use plain Greek yogurt.

IMG_2851

Since you have your cutting board out, chop other veggies you will use very finely – the rest of the cucumber, 2 Roma tomatoes and 1/2 of a red onion.

IMG_2852

Don’t get excited about anything Winston!

IMG_2857

I spent the night at my Mom’s house so started to assemble the dish the night prior. However, do not put your veggies on top until just before serving so the dip doesn’t get watery.

IMG_2858

Greek Layer Dip

  • 1 6-8 oz. container plain Greek yogurt or tzatziki sauce
  • 1 6-8 oz. container hummus (or could use homemade) I used the Tribe brand roasted red pepper flavor; any would do
  • 1 cup crumbled feta cheese
  • 3/4 of a seeded, finely diced, peeled cucumber
  • 2 seeded, finely chopped Roma tomatoes
  • 1/2 of a finely chopped red onion
  • 15-20 finely diced pepperoncini’s
  • Olives would also be great on here, but I can’t handle them!

In a pie pan, layer your Greek yogurt/tzatziki, then hummus and then feta cheese. Prior to serving, top with cucumber, tomatoes, onion and pepperoncini’s. Serve with pita chips or fresh vegetables. Refrigerate any leftovers.

IMG_2859IMG_2860

Layer like a taco dip!

IMG_2861

If prepping the night prior, leave your veggies off until just before serving. It helps to have them all diced and prepped in advance.

IMG_2863

Inhale on pita chips or veggies, repeat! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

