Heart Fruit Pizza

Hi! I don’t usually post on a Sunday, but this is an exception. I feel I have to share this recipe with you so you can go to the grocery store to buy the ingredients and make this for your friend, spouse, co-worker, etc. to share with them for Valentine’s. This is the best fruit pizza I have EVER made and I love this size vs. a huge cookie sheet. And a bonus? Starting tomorrow, strawberries are on sale at Krause’s Supervalu in Hazen, Washburn and Garrison. There is a two for $3.98 coupon and you can enter to win that flat-screen TV. I am determined to win that TV – I try every week!

Of course any fruit would work but strawberries or raspberries are great for the red heart on Valentine’s!

IMG_2933

I am by no means an artist, so even if I can fashion a (crude) heart out of berries, so can you.

IMG_2923

Heart Fruit Pizza via Mel’s Kitchen Café – no changes needed in my opinion

INGREDIENTS:
Dough:
1/2 cup butter, softened (do not sub margarine)
2/3 cup granulated sugar
1 large egg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Zest of 1 lemon, divided (use the other half for the frosting)
1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon cream of tartar
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

Frosting:
1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
Fresh lemon juice from 1 lemon (1-2 tablespoons)
Other half of lemon zest from above

Fresh Fruit:
Strawberries or raspberries for Valentine’s or any fruit you prefer

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 10-inch round or tart pan with nonstick cooking spray. This will give a fairly thick crust. If you want a thinner crust, try using a larger pizza pan shape or a 9X13-inch pan.

For the dough, in a large bowl, cream together the butter and granulated sugar until smooth. Mix in egg, vanilla, and 1/2 of the lemon zest. Add the dry ingredients and mix until just blended. Press the dough into the prepared pan.

Bake the dough for 10-12 minutes, or until very lightly browned. Don’t overbake as the crust will become dry. Cool the crust on a wire rack completely.

In a medium bowl, beat the cream cheese until smooth. Add the granulated and powdered sugar, vanilla, lemon juice, and other half of the lemon zest. Spread on the cooled pizza crust to within 1/4-inch of the edges. Arrange fruit on top of the pizza. Cover lightly with plastic wrap and chill until serving time.

IMG_2924

Do not skip using real lemon. It really gives a great brightness to the crust and the cream cheese top. And it makes your kitchen smell wonderful. Spring is coming, right? Also, I totally busted out a tape measurer to see which of my tart pans was 10”. Redneck.

IMG_2925IMG_2926

The dough is thick and soft. I used flour on the dough and my fingers to spread into the pan.

IMG_2927IMG_2928

While the dough is cooking, get your filling ingredients ready. I just set my cookie outside to cool while I made the cream cheese topping.

IMG_2929IMG_2930

Mmmm, the lemon juice nicely thins out the cream cheese. Pop the cookies out of the pan and spread the cream cheese topping over your cookie base that has fully cooled.

IMG_2931

Before serving, hull and slice your strawberries and arrange in a heart shape.

IMG_2932

I did cover this tightly and stored it in the fridge until our dinner guest was ready for dessert.

IMG_2934

I loved the thick cookie base, that was my favorite. I didn’t even care about the topping or berries but they obviously make this dessert. That cookie base was thick and chewy and so many kinds of deliciousness. Maybe I should try a recipe similar to that just making cookies? Hmm?

IMG_2935

Your Valentine (friend, co-worker, spouse or whatever) will most definitely be happy when you bake this for him or her. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

