Chocolate Saltine Toffee

I know what you might be thinking. Saltine crackers for dessert? Trust me, this more than works. This was my favorite (and easiest) thing I made for dessert this past holiday season.
  IMG_2719

It isn’t a wonder though I guess. I remember one of my favorite things to eat at Grannie’s at Christmas Eve was the Ritz crackers stuffed with peanut butter and covered in chocolate or almond bark. I mean really. Sweet, salty, buttery and chocolate. Covers my food groups thank you very much. And! I had all these ingredients handy.

IMG_2704

  • 1 sleeve of saltine crackers – mine had 38
  • 1 c butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 c brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 2 c chocolate chips (I used 1 cup milk chocolate and 1 cup butterscotch)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a jelly roll pan with parchment paper and spray it very well with cooking spray. (Do not skip this step). Line saltine crackers in a single layer on the bottom of the pan.

In a saucepan on the stovetop, combine butter and sugar and bring to a boil while stirring constantly. Once a boil is reached, reduce the heat and simmer, uncovered, for 3 to 5 minutes or until mixture has thickened some. Take care not that your simmer is not too fast/too high because it will be prone to bubbling over or scorching.

After mixture has thickened, remove it from heat, wait 30 seconds, add the vanilla extract and stir.

Pour mixture over the prepared pan with the saltine crackers. Bake this in the preheated 350F oven for 7 minutes, or until the toffee becomes bubbly.

Remove pan from the oven and put your chips on top of the crackers. Put back in the oven for 2 minutes. This allows the chips to melt. Spread the chips with a spatula to cover all crackers. Let the crackers cool completely (stick outside or in the freezer), break into pieces and eat. I preferred these straight out of the freezer, but they are good at room temperature as well.

IMG_2705

Easy enough, right? Lay your sleeve of cracker out.

IMG_2707IMG_2708

Pour the toffee mix on and you can see it soaks in pretty well after it bakes those few minutes.

IMG_2709IMG_2710

Pour your chips on top and back into the stove to let them melt for a couple minutes.

IMG_2715

Spread the melted chocolate with a spatula. Don’t skip a cracker!

IMG_2717

Let it cool and break into random pieces like you would a brittle. Mine still were a little “wet” but broke up fine. I just stored them in the freezer until ready to serve. I loved them frozen actually.

IMG_2718

Enjoy this weird, but delicious treat!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Chocolate Saltine Toffee

  1. DeEtte Hovde says:

    Making this AGAIN tonight. Kids request. It’s dangerous, because you always have these ingredients! ha

  2. DeEtte Hovde says:

    Making this AGAIN!!! Ugh!!!!!

  3. Pingback: Smores Toffee Bark | Feisty Eats

Leave a Reply

