Ham and Noodle 1-Skillet Dish

So, a while back my father-in-law and nephew were visiting on a trip to Hazen to make deer sausage. I seriously love my father-in-law. He is just a sweetheart. I knew I wanted to have some dinner on hand for when he got hungry. He doesn’t like spice! You know those Germans…pepper is spicy to them. Most everything I prefer has a lot of spice, so I needed something new, easy and quick. Enter this one-dish meal. You gotta love that!

IMG_2733

Here is an easy, one-skillet dish you can make up for any non-spice lovers.

IMG_2723

Ham and Noodle 1-skillet dish

2 tablespoons butter
1 onion, finely diced
8 ounces egg noodles
2 cups low-sodium chicken broth
1 cup half and half
1 pound deli or cooked ham, cut into 1” pieces
2 cups frozen mixed veggies (any mix is fine if you only want green beans or corn, etc.)
1 tablespoon lemon juice
3-4 ounces cream cheese, cut into cubes
salt and pepper

1. Melt the butter in a 12-inch skillet over medium-high heat. Cook onions until golden brown, about 5 mins.

2. Add broth, half-and-half, and noodles to skillet and bring to a boil. Add diced ham, then reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, until noodles are tender, about 8-10 minutes.

3. Season with plenty of salt and pepper. Add veggies, lemon juice and cream cheese to skillet and cook until heated through. Enjoy!

IMG_2724

Even if your guests don’t like onion, I can’t give it up. It adds so much flavor. Just dice it very fine if anyone is picky. You could even grate it.

IMG_2725IMG_2726

Add broth, half-and-half, and noodles to skillet and bring to a boil. Add diced ham, then reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, covered, until noodles are tender, about 8-10 minutes. I used deli ham, but use any cooked ham you have on hand.

IMG_2727IMG_2728

Cover to let the moisture sink into the noodles and cook them. Add the frozen veggies.

IMG_2729

Add the cream cheese and let it melt into the dish.

IMG_2730

Yum. Yum!

IMG_2731

Be sure to add as much salt and pepper as you need to taste.

IMG_2734

Eat while nice and warm. Father-in-law approved! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Dinner, Main Dish, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ham and Noodle 1-Skillet Dish

  1. kate says:

    Well i guess this would be a dish for your pop if johnny approvef. Sounds good.

  2. Dakotapam says:

    My mom is the same way! One day I was making chili and she asked if I could leave the chili powder out. . .that really had me shaking my head. I just served her a bowl of beans form a can! This looks like a nice quick meal for a busy evening!

    • Feisty Eats says:

      Thanks for reading Dakota Pam! I find it funny about the spice. I think I must have gotten my Mom’s taste buds. We like a lot of the same things and thankfully she has a much more expansive palate than my father!

Leave a Reply

