Coconut Macaroons

I had a recipe to make some Almond Joy Bars or cookies. I can’t recall at this time. I got the recipe around and starting gathering the items I needed and…I didn’t have a few of the ingredients. You know, like almonds. Kind of a big deal if you want Almond Joy Bars!

IMG_2721

(I took this photo while the chocolate was obviously still warm.) I was a little bummed until I looked on the back of the Essential Everyday bag. Krause’s Supervalu to the rescue again. I had right in front of me a cookie recipe with almond flavor and a chocolate topping. Done!

Coconut Macaroons from Essential Everyday coconut bag, made 2 1/2 dozen cookies

  • 1 14 oz. bag coconut flakes
  • 1 14 oz. can sweetened condensed milk
  • 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. almond extract
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. vegetable shortening
  1. In a large bowl combine all but the last 2 ingredients. Mix thoroughly and refrigerate for 1 hour.
  2. Using a 2-inch diameter cookie scoop, scoop cookies onto a parchment lined and non-stick sprayed piece of parchment paper.
  3. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes until coconut starts to toast. Remove from oven and let cool. Remove from parchment. NOTE: I had trouble with the cookies sticking to the parchment. I tried spraying the parchment and this helped, but be aware.
  4. Heat the last two ingredients and drizzle over cooled cookies. Store in airtight container.

IMG_2699

Easy ingredients. These would be good in the dead of winter or the heat of the summer I think. The almond extract gives them a great flavor!

IMG_2700

The bag where I got my new almond coconut cookie recipe from.

IMG_2701

Refrigerate your dough. This allows the sweetened condensed milk to really gel with the coconut.

IMG_2716

After on the left and before on the right. These really keep their shape! Again though, please note…mine did stick some to the parchment. Spray it very well.

IMG_2722

If you are a coconut or almond flavor fan you will like these. Go as heavy or light as you would like on the chocolate topping. Enjoy!

P.S. Those bars on the side of the photo…recipe to come.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

