Chopped Antipasto Salad

As you might have noticed, I really like soup for dinner and lunch during these colder months. It helps to warm you up and is just the perfect meal with a mix of veggies and meat. I L-O-V-E salad. Like, sometimes I even want a salad over a burger! This is huge. Buuuuttt, when winter comes, it is like my salad loving taste buds shut right off. The veggies aren’t as fresh and the cold salad on a cold day does just not appeal to me. However, when I saw a similar salad somewhere online, I made it almost immediately and then almost immediately ate it all. If you love Greek kind of flavors this salad is for you. YUM!

IMG_2477

Instead of iceberg lettuce, next time I would like to use some mixed greens. I had a head of iceberg about ready to go off though and used it here. If you like a certain ingredient more than another, add more. Next time I would add more pepperoncini’s as both Mr. FeistyEats and I love them. I am sure black olives would go well on this if you can stand them. Heh. #notablackolivelover

IMG_2471

This is one salad I could eat year-round. I imagine some chopped chicken would also go well on here. It is OK to take a break from the warm meals once in a while.

  • 1 small head of iceberg lettuce, chopped
  • 3 oz. pepperoni – diced or small circles
  • 1/2 small red onion, diced
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, diced and seeded
  • 1 small cucumber, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 3/4 – 1 cup feta cheese, crumbled
  • 15 pepperoncini’s, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 cup Italian vinaigrette dressing (I like Kraft brand)
  1. Place everything into the mixing bowl. Toss. Serve. Easy.
  2. Please note this is best served right after you make it. If you let it sit overnight it will get watery. You could easy chop everything in advance and throw it together last minute.

Note: This is best to eat the day you assemble it as it will get soggy if you let it sit.

IMG_2472

Some of the ingredients. Those pepperoni’s were on sale at Krause’s and I loved them because I didn’t have to cut them! I also prefer this kind of Greek vinaigrette. So.Good.

IMG_2473

Veggies are so gorgeous any day of the year. To seed your tomatoes simple take off the top and end and squeeze the juice and seeds into the garbage/disposal. You want to get rid of as much juice as possible for this dish. To seed the cucumber, use a spoon to scrape out the insides.

IMG_2474

Either tear the iceberg or cut it with this special knife. You don’t want to cut it with a metal knife as it reacts with the lettuce and will turn it brown. This plastic one doesn’t harm it and I heart it big time.

IMG_2475

What a mess this kitchen is! And, of course, Winston naps in the middle of it. Oh, good thing I love that dog.

IMG_2478

Toss it well and make sure each plate has all the goodness on it!

IMG_2480

This is great for a get together or for leftover lunches. Again though, don’t let it sit for over a day, it will get runny. Enjoy!

IMG_2482

FeistyCat Brinks giving Winston some love. He is obviously (not) thrilled.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

