Soft Molasses Cookies

These are some of my favorite cookies. Very surprising as they don’t contain one bit of chocolate! My grandma makes these and they are delicious!

IMG_2525

Soft spices cookies rolled in a sugar mixture. OKAY! (I generally bake things and blog later hence the Thanksgiving décor.)

IMG_2517

Soft Molasses Cookies – makes 4-5 dozen

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup Crisco vegetable shortening
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 2 eggs lightly beaten
  • 4 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 1/4 tsp. ginger
  • 1 1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice OR cloves
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • Cinnamon/sugar mixture for coating cookies

1.  Cream together butter and shortening. Add sugar and cream until light and fluffy. Add in molasses and eggs and set aside.

2.  In another bowl, combine flour, salt, baking soda and spices. Blend with wire whisk.

3.  Gradually add dry ingredients with wet.

4.  Roll into 1 1/2” thick balls. Roll in cinnamon/sugar mixture and place on a greased cookie sheet OR parchment paper on your cookie sheet.

5.  Bake at 350 for 10-11 minutes.

IMG_2518

I decided I wanted to make these cookies that my Grandma always would have at Christmas. One year, Grannie gifted us kids this cookbook with recipes from her and my great-grandmother. How awesome, right? But, I opened the book up and there were several molasses or ginger cookies listed. Which was THE ONE? I called Grannie but she must have still been at church. I didn’t want to wait so I looked through the book more closely and she has some notes on some of the recipes. This one read “Soft Molasses Cookies (Good)”. I knew this had to be the recipe!

IMG_2519IMG_2520

Always cream your sugars and butter. YUMMY!

IMG_2521

The cookie dough is super thick. And, this is really weird and has never happened to me before. I didn’t really like the dough. I am a cookie dough lover. I generally would rather have the dough than the cookie. I was nervous these were not going to turn out. And, have you ever smelled molasses? Not that great of a smell. It was a letdown similar to when I had a taste of the delicious smelling vanilla extract to find it tastes gross. What a letdown.

IMG_2522IMG_2523

Before and after. I love the cracked tops!

IMG_2524

These are soft and delicious straight out of the oven!

IMG_2526

Yes, I ate 3 cookies. They were good! These definitely remind me of Christmas as that was usually the only time I ate these at Grannie’s house.

IMG_2527

Like I said, these are soft. However, if you leave them for a few days they will harden up. All you have to do is stick a piece of bread in the container the cookies they are in, let it sit overnight and the next morning = soft cookies. It is a great trick to use on older cookies! Enjoy.

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Cookies. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Soft Molasses Cookies

  1. granny Anne says:

    yes, they are good Sarah. love u

Leave a Reply

