Ultimate Chocolate Chip Toffee Cookie Bars

IMG_2303

Bars that taste like cookies? Sign me up! I made these a while back, but I remember I loved the soft moist texture. These could also be made into cookies, but I suggest the bars. They have toffee chips in them, but they are only a slight toffee hint, not overwhelming at all.

IMG_2286

These come together quick – they are a great last minute bar to bake if you need to take some somewhere or bake for guests. I found this recipe online and tucked it in to make one day.

ULTIMATE CHOCOLATE CHIP TOFFEE COOKIES (turned into bars)

(Recipe adapted only slightly from Paula Deen’s Chocolate Celebration magazine, 2008)

  • 1 ½ cups butter, softened (YES! THREE sticks people!)
  • 1 ½ cups firmly packed brown sugar
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 ½ cups flour
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 8-oz. pkg. English Toffee Bits or Heath Bar bits
  • 12-oz. pkg. chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°. Grease a 10×15” cookie sheet. In large bowl, combine butter, sugars, vanilla and eggs. Beat at medium speed with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add flour, soda, salt, toffee bits and chocolate chips and stir with wooden spoon until combined. Spread into prepared cookie sheet and bake about 30 minutes at 350°. Change elevation levels in oven so bars cook evenly. Or drop cookies by heaping tablespoonfuls 2 inches apart on greased baking sheets. Bake for 12-14 minutes, or until lightly browned. Let cookies cool in pan for 2 minutes. Remove to wire racks to cool completely. Let bars cool completely on wire rack before cutting and removing from pan. Makes 48 bars or about 4 ½ dozen cookies.

IMG_2287IMG_2288

You can see the mixture is super thick. And tastes amazing. I mean, I imagine it would if I were ever to eat raw batter and all.

IMG_2289IMG_2290

I hand mixed the chips in and plopped onto a parchment lined jelly roll sheet. I sprayed my hands with Crisco non-stick spray and spread the dough out that way.

IMG_2291IMG_2297

Before and after.

IMG_2298IMG_2299

Feel free to cut into these while they are still warm!

IMG_2300

If you are smart, feel free to drizzle some chocolate and caramel sauce on top.

IMG_2302

Love how those chocolate chips stay in the middle and don’t sink to the bottom. Also, some people (hello sister) were wondering why I use these old plates. Well, they are a perfect size and I just like them for a quick treat!

IMG_2304

Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ultimate Chocolate Chip Toffee Cookie Bars

  1. Teresa says:

    Thanks for linking my post with this delicious bar. Every time I make it I get rave reviews. I hope you, your family, and your readers enjoy this delightful recipe. It’s a great Christmas cookie idea!

Leave a Reply

