White Bean & Bacon Soup

I hope to make quite a few soup recipes this fall and winter. I love soup. I made this one to take to work, so I don’t have a “pretty” photo of it all dressed up in a bowl. I know you can use your imagination though. I also doubled this for the larger crowd. This recipe could easily be halved for your family. It is also really customizable – if you don’t want meat, skip it, or use a different kind of meat if you would like.

IMG_2340IMG_2341

I found this recipe online and slightly altered it to fit my needs. This makes a very large batch. You can easily halve it, take to a potluck or freeze.

White Bean & Bacon Soup

  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 1 whole Onion, Chopped
  • 6 whole Carrots (medium), Peeled And Diced
  • 6 stalks Celery, Diced
  • 6 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 7 cans Small White Beans (15.5 Ounces Each), Drained And Rinsed
  • 3 teaspoons Dry Italian Seasoning
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Freshly Ground Black Pepper
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons Salt
  • 8 cups Chicken Stock
  • 1 cup Bacon, Cooked And Crumbled
  • 1 cup cut up cooked deer sausage
  • 2 Tablespoons Parsley, Chopped
  • 2 teaspoons Lemon Juice

1) In a medium/large pot set over medium heat, melt the butter with olive oil; add the onion, carrots, celery and garlic; once garlic becomes aromatic, add the rinsed white beans and gently stir; add the Italian seasoning, black pepper and salt, and stir.
2) Add the chicken stock, bring to a boil and then lower heat to medium-low, and allow to gently simmer, uncovered, for 45 minutes. (Stir occasionally, and use the back of your spoon to gently push down and break apart the beans during the last 15 minutes of the cooking to naturally thicken the soup or use a stick blender.)
3) Once soup has simmered for 45 minutes and has thickened, turn off the heat; add the meat, the chopped parsley and the lemon juice, and stir to combine; check seasoning at this time, and adjust, if necessary.
4)Ladle soup into bowls. Enjoy!

This soup is best served with a rustic-style, warm, crusty bread- great for dipping! I made garlic bread to go along with this.

IMG_2342IMG_2343

It would be ideal for you to make your own beans in advance in a crock pot, but I was just returning from vacation and had no time. Canned beans worked just fine. One thing I did to save time, was I chopped all my veggies in advance and made the meat the day prior. This helps so much when you come home after work and have a million things to do. Or, use a food processor and throw the veggies in there for a quick chop.

IMG_2344IMG_2345

Ah, look at all those cans of beans and chicken broth!!

IMG_2346IMG_2347

I used the stick blender – so great for soups – to make the soup more smooth and creamy without the addition of any actual cream. Glorious!

IMG_2349

This smells so heavenly when you are cooking it. I imagine this would do well in a crock pot too. If it is too thick (for example, after it has been sitting too long) just add some more chicken broth to thin it out.

2012-10-18_09-09-41_136

This made a huge crockpot and the guys licked it up. I love taking food for them because they always eat it. But then, I wonder if it is because the food is good or it is just a bunch of hungry guys?! Oh well!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Main Dish, Soup, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

