Pumpkin Cinnamon Chip Bread with Caramel Sauce

It is pumpkin season! You just have to love fall. Well, except for the one bad thing about fall. It means winter is coming soon. Well, this dessert will make you feel warm. It is super dense, filling and just the right amount of sweetness.

IMG_2339

I generally don’t bake things more than once. I am always trying new recipes, so when my sister mentioned a pumpkin bread recipe I emailed her a while back (2+ years back), I didn’t even remember it! But I searched my email and there it was. We decided to whip up a couple loaves one Saturday afternoon.

IMG_2311

This is a picture heavy post because my sister was visiting and was my photographer! Thank Jodes! And no, I did not use that cute little pumpkin.

IMG_2305

Anyway, I guess that “pumpkin” above is actually a gourd so let’s go with good ‘ol Libby’s canned pumpkin!

IMG_2307

Pumpkin Cinnamon Chip Bread with Caramel Sauce

  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

Sift together the above ingredients.

Add:

  • 1 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cup brown sugar

Mix together:

  • 1 cup canola oil
  • 1 can of pumpkin
  • 4 eggs, one at a time blending between each egg

Extras:

  • 1 bag cinnamon chips, divided
  • 1/2 cup caramel sauce

Add in dry ingredients gradually, mixing until well combined. Add in about half the bag of cinnamon chips.

Pour into 2 greased 9″ x 5″ bread pans. Bake at 350 degrees for 50-60 minutes, a toothpick should come out clean. Let rest for 10 minutes in pan before removing.

IMG_2308

Let’s get ready to bake! An action shot of me sifting the dry ingredients. Sorry I look so dumb. My sister was having some issues trying to figure out my camera. You know, holding down the button and all that trickery. Do you like my apron? It says Hot & Spicy and the food’s good too!! A gift from my Mom!

IMG_2313

Hmmm, what did I mess up now? The original recipe did not call for cinnamon chips or caramel sauce, but we decided to amp it up with both.

IMG_2314

Like any good photographer, she took pics of the animals. Look at little Brinklie – she has her tongue sticking out. Cute!!

IMG_2315IMG_2317IMG_2318IMG_2319

Before and after.

IMG_2320

Outside to cool.

IMG_2321

And there is the man, err dog, Winston getting some petting.

IMG_2324IMG_2325IMG_2326IMG_2327

After the bread was cool, I topped the bread with caramel sauce – just the kind you put on your ice cream. Then I added cinnamon chips to the top.

IMG_2332

Looking good!

IMG_2335

Serve with a little more caramel sauce on top. Of course, if you don’t like caramel, omit that part.

IMG_2337

Enjoy! That to my sister for taking some photos!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

