Apple Crisp Pizza

Today I have a special guest post from a special woman – my Mom! Aren’t Moms just the best ever? The best cook I know is my Mom – and grandma. Anyway, she made up a few of these Apple Crisp pizzas and they were a hit. She took a few photos with her phone and sent them my way. This is the finished piece – looks delicious, right? Here are her directions below. I can’t wait to give this a try.

downsized_1013121410

Pastry for a single pie crust. (Or, go the easy route and buy a pre-made pie crust at the store)
2/3 cup sugar
3 tablespoon flour
1 tsp. cinnamon (or more if you like a lot)
4 med apples (About 4 cups of apples)

Topping
1/2 cup flour
1/3 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup old fashion rolled oats (I think mine were the quick)
1 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 cup salted softened butter or margarine
1/2 cup caramel topping. ( I just bought a squeeze bottle of caramel used for ice cream)

Directions
Roll pastry crust to fit a 12 inch pizza pan. ( I just rolled it to fit a large jelly roll pan what ever you have that will work)
Fold under edges to give pizza a bit of a raised crust.  Combine sugar, flour and cinnamon in a bowl. Add peeled diced apples and toss. Arrange the apples in a single layer on the crust.
For topping, combine the flour, brown sugar, oats, cinnamon and butter in a bowl. Mix well with a pastry blender, fork or your hands. Sprinkle on top of apples.
Bake at 350 for 35 to 45 minutes or until apples are tender. My average time was 43 minutes. Remove from oven and drizzle caramel on top. Cut into slices and serve
warm with ice cream. If you are not serving immediately, do not top with caramel.

I cut it and put it into containers to freeze. It warms up great in the microwave and then add the caramel. I also added a bit of nutmeg into the apple mixture and a pinch of salt.
Easy and good to have in the freezer. No messing with real pizza crust or mixing pie crust.

1013121250

This is a great photo showing you how to roll the pie crust out and create a lip so your filling stays contained.

downsized_1013121255

The apples covered in the mix and ready to go onto the pie.

downsized_1013121300

Fill up the pie crust.

downsized_1013121301

Top with the oat topping. Looking so good. I really like the idea of apple crisp in a pie. I am not the biggest apple crisp fan, because I always want more of the oat topping. I think this makes a good balance to have a crust, apples and then topping. Yum!

downsized_1013121303

Whomp, whomp. As any home cook knows – the worst part of baking is the clean up!!

downsized_1013121410

Top with caramel sauce and enjoy!

Thanks so much Mom for taking photos and sending me the recipe. Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert, Guest Post. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Apple Crisp Pizza

  1. mom says:

    You are welcome. I did find that recipe on the internet. I just like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

