Spicy Turkey Burger salad

I typically don’t buy ground turkey because I prefer ground beef. Turkey can be pretty bland and dry. But I saw a recipe for a Kickin’ Turkey Burger and used that to come up with these burgers that are SUPER moist and very flavorful. Now of course, you can serve these on buns, but you should REALLY, REALLY try a burger salad. Best thing ever. I bet you still have tomatoes around from your garden, right? They are great on these.

IMG_2285

Someone commented that mustard and ketchup on salad is weird. Well, you put it on your burger in bun form, right? Just try it. I even got my husband to love these salads.

IMG_2269IMG_2270

I had a bunch of small onions from the garden so used 3 of them grated up. Make sure you keep the onion juice to mix into the burgers – it helps keep them moist. When I got down to the nub of the onion I just diced it with my knife.

IMG_2272IMG_2273

Spicy Turkey Burgers based off of this recipe on AllRecipes.com.

  • 1 lb. ground turkey
  • 1 onion, grated with juice
  • 1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced
  • 2 Tbsp. barbeque sauce of your choice (I used a mustard/vinegar one)
  • 2 Tbsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 tsp. liquid smoke flavoring
  • 1 Tbsp. steak seasoning (I used Montreal brand)
  • Colby Jack cheese

Salad ingredients: lettuce, green onions, tomatoes, pickles, ketchup and mustard.

Mix all ingredients together until thoroughly incorporated and form into 4 patties. Cook on grill or fry in pan until done. Top with cheese and serve over a salad.

IMG_2274

I have to tell you these burgers were so moist, they were difficult to handle. I wouldn’t grill these on a grill with wide grates. These would be wonderful pan-fried.

IMG_2276

I was grilling some bacon for a different recipe. Best way to make bacon ever! We did put a slice on our salad in addition to the burger and it was a great choice.

IMG_2278IMG_2280

Make sure you cook them through and give your cheese time to melt.

IMG_2282

We have a bed of iceberg lettuce, chopped pickles, chopped tomatoes, sliced green onion and Heinz ketchup and spicy mustard. Get in my belly!

IMG_2283

Do yourself a favor and try a burger salad today!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

