Apple Butterscotch Honey Bars‏

Hello! Welcome to butterscotch week! I thought I didn’t like butterscotch, then I realized I am a moron. It is so good! I mean the flavors are basically brown sugar and butter. You can’t go wrong!

IMG_2251

I am not a photographer. I have a very lovely camera thanks to my husband, but I am far from a pro. And I eat off of napkins or paper towels and not usually a fancy plate. I am usually in a rush and it just works for me! Anyway, I made these after work to take to work and now that it is fall, our evenings get dark so much quicker. I just work with it the best I can.

IMG_2252[4]

I have wonderful co-workers and one of them gave me fresh apples and another gave me spun honey. I had never heard of spun honey before, you? His parents have a lot of land and I guess they let some beekeepers have their hives on their land so in turn, they get a lot of honey every year. He was generous enough to share this with me.

IMG_2246

This is pure, premium honey that has been allowed to naturally granulate under controlled conditions to make a smooth, spreadable textured honey. This stuff is amazing. It will not crystallize.

IMG_2247

YUMMY! With this honey and the fresh apples, I made Apple Butterscotch Honey bars. I used a recipe I have made before and just switched it up a bit. It worked well.

IMG_2243

Ingredients for Apple Butterscotch Honey Bars‏, based on my Oatmeal Cream Cheese Butterscotch Bars

  • 2 sticks butter or margarine, at room temperature, cut into small pieces
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 2/3 cup lightly packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 (11-ounce) bag butterscotch chips
  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 2/3 c. (scant) honey (I used spun honey)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 4 cups of tart apples
  • 1 Tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 Tbsp. flour

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Drape a 9 by 13-inch pan with overlapping pieces of aluminum foil or parchment paper, creating handles for easy removal. Butter or spray the paper.

In a food processor, add the flour, oats and brown sugar and pulse to combine. Add the 2 sticks of butter, the cinnamon and the butterscotch chips. Pulse, pulse, pulse until the mixture forms clumps when pressed between your fingers. Transfer the mixture to a large bowl. Press half of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan in an even layer, reserve the other half. Bake in the preheated oven just until slightly golden and set, about 12 minutes. Remove from the oven and cool completely. If you don’t have a food processor use your hands or a pastry cutter?

While bottom layer is baking peel and dice about 4 medium tart apples. Cover with 1 Tbsp. lemon juice and microwave on high for 4 minutes until apples are soft. Drain any leftover juices. Let cool. Once cool, sprinkle with 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 Tbsp. flour and stir to cover apples with this mixture.

Beat together the cream cheese, honey and vanilla in an electric stand mixer fitted with a paddle, or with an electric hand mixer until no lumps of cream cheese remain. Fold in your apples. Spread evenly over the baked and cooled oatmeal mixture. Sprinkle the remaining half of the oatmeal mixture over the cream cheese. Bake until the top is golden, about 35-40 minutes.

Cool and chill before cutting. Run a knife around the edge of the pan, and using the foil handles, transfer the bars to a cutting board. Cut into 2-inch squares with a sharp knife and serve.

Call yourself a superstar!!!

IMG_2244

Oh hello naughty cat.

IMG_2245

You bake the base to pre-set it and then get ready for the gooey middle.

IMG_2248IMG_2249

IMG_2250

Top with the rest of the crumbs and bake.

IMG_2253

These are pretty sweet, so a small square is all you need.

IMG_2254

Butterscotch, apples and honey with cream cheese topped with butterscotch. Winner! Enjoy!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

