White Sheet Cake with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

OK, a dessert post. I am getting back into baking after a bit of a break. And this is a good one.

IMG_2153

IMG_2150

Creamy, dreamy, ultra fresh tasting white sheet cake with strawberry cream cheese frosting. This makes a jelly roll pan – so plan to share!

IMG_2139

White Sheet Cake with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting – recipe found on Tasty Kitchen 

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup water
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2-¼ cups flour
  • ½ tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • ½ cup sour cream

Frosting

  • 2 packages (8 Oz. Size) Cream Cheese
  • 3-½ cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1 container (12 Oz. Size) Cool Whip
  • 2 cups sliced strawberries

Preparation Instructions

For the cake:
Melt butter and water on your stovetop or in the microwave. Stir until all the butter is melted. Add sugar, flour, salt, and soda. Combine until smooth. Add eggs and vanilla, beat well. Stir in sour cream until all is blended.

Pour into a greased jelly roll sheet. Bake at 375ºF for 18-22 minutes, until cake springs back when lightly touched or toothpick inserted in center comes clean.

For the topping:
With a mixer, blend cream cheese and powdered sugar together. Add Cool Whip and beat until smooth and creamy. Finally, mix in your sliced strawberries.

Spread mixture on top of cooled cake. Cut into pieces and serve.

Refrigerate any leftovers.

IMG_2140

I knew I would be pressed for time and measured my dry ingredients in advance. Every little bit helps.

IMG_2141IMG_2142

The batter is very runny and comes together quickly.

IMG_2143IMG_2144

Get your frosting ingredients around while the cake is cooling. I had sliced my strawberries in advance, sprinkled them with sugar and let the juices develop and then froze them until I needed them and thawed them overnight in the fridge.

IMG_2148

Goodness right there!

IMG_2149IMG_2151

Frosting evenly to the edges.

IMG_2152IMG_2154

I am sure you could use any berry you like in the frosting. This cake was so moist, light and luscious. It also freezes well.

IMG_2155

Enjoy!

Have a good weekend – today is my Friday. I am off to the city to see my SISTER!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Baking, Dessert. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to White Sheet Cake with Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting

  1. Jillian says:

    I LOVE strawberry cream cheese frosting! It’s the only kind of icing/frosting I will eat, so I will have to try your recipe 🙂

    http://www.myboulangerie.wordpress.com

  2. mom says:

    I am trying that for sure sounds gooooooood.

  3. Piping Bags says:

    Me too I’m definitely going to try this! I LOVE frosting with cream cheese 🙂 Have you tried this with any other flavours such as orange or banana?

Leave a Reply

