Atomic Buffalo Turds

Quite the name, right? I have seen these various places online and there are various ways to season them, but here is the concept. People usually really like cream cheese stuffed jalapenos wrapped in bacon. But, to take it over the top and make it an Atomic Buffalo Turd, stick a little smokie in the jalapeno!

IMG_2160

We assembled these in the garage with jalapenos straight from our garden. Here is how I made ours.

Atomic Buffalo Turds

  • 12 jalapenos sliced in half, seeds and ribs removed (good idea to wear gloves or some hand protection)
  • 12 slices of bacon, cut in half
  • 24 Little Smokies – we love the Cloverdale ones
  • 8 oz. block of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 – 1 cup shredded cheese – Pepper jack would be great, I used Colby Jack
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 1/2 cup sweet BBQ sauce of your choice

Mix together cream cheese, cheese, cumin and chili powder. Spread evenly into all 24 jalapenos. Stick one little smokie in each jalapeno on top of the cream cheese. Wrap the whole things together and secure with a toothpick. Be sure to stick the toothpick through the top but don’t go all the way through the jalapeno or your cream cheese will leak out. We smoked ours for about 2 hours at 180. This gave it a great, smoky flavor and we transported them to the picnic we attended. There we fired up the grill and finished them off. Brush with BBQ sauce and serve. Step by step is shown below.

IMG_2161

Cream cheese mixture first.

IMG_2162

Doggie – I do not think you want a raw jalapeno.

IMG_2163

Stick a smokie on top of the cream cheese.

IMG_2164

Secure with a toothpick. I must say it is a lot easier to take photos when I have a helper!

IMG_2165

All ready for the smoker!

2012-09-02_12-35-15_980

Here they are on the smoker. Sadly, I don’t have any photos of the finished product.

This is a photo from BBQ Addicts and gives you the general idea. If you have an open flame grill, I do not recommend cooking these. Use indirect heat or a Holland grill. The bacon will cause burning and flare-ups. I also forgot to bring the BBQ sauce with me to the party, the sweet goes great with the heat. I am sure you could make these in the oven as well. Season the cream cheese as you like and feel free to dress up with any fun BBQ sauce.

Janet L – you were there! I hope you got to taste one!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Grilling. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Atomic Buffalo Turds

  1. Janet says:

    I did get to try these and they were delicious!!! I even was able to grab 3 of them before they were gone!!! Can’t wait to make these myself but I know Mister L won’t eat them so MORE for me!!!

Leave a Reply

