Baked mashed cauliflower

Ah, more veggies. I can’t bake sweets all the time! I do have some good baked goods recipes coming up though.

IMG_2111IMG_2112

This is kind of like mashed potatoes, but with cauliflower.

IMG_2102IMG_2103

I just mash mine in the pot I cook it in with a fork. Easy!

IMG_2104IMG_2105

Baked mashed cauliflower

  • 1 head of cauliflower
  • 1 Tbsp. butter
  • 1/3 cup of chopped white onion
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3 Tbsp. sour cream
  • Salt and pepper
  • 5-6 green onions, chopped
  • 1 tsp. dried parsley
  • 1 cup shredded Colby Jack or cheddar cheese

Cut your cauliflower into large florets and boil for about 15 minutes to cook through. Season the water with salt. Remove from heat, drain and mash with a fork. If you want it more fine, use a food processor.

In a sauté pan, melt butter and cook your white onion, add in the garlic and cook until the onions start to brown. Remove from heat and add to the mashed cauliflower. Add sour cream and half of the green onions. Season with salt, pepper, parsley and whatever else you’d like. Spread into a dish and cover with shredded cheese and remaining green onions. Bake at 350 until cheese melts, about 15 minutes. I garnished mine with some more green onions and Lawry’s seasoned salt. Never enough onions!

IMG_2106IMG_2108

Before and after.

IMG_2110IMG_2113

This makes a great side dish!

IMG_2114

Enjoy piping hot!

IMG_2120IMG_2127

Hello from the pets – Winston and Brinklie. The cat does get on our kitchen table. I have to admit. I keep a tablecloth on the table so she doesn’t scratch it up. When guests come over, I remove it. Kind of opposite of what most people do. Crazy animal lover!

P.S. I’m not sure if she reads this blog, but if so – happy birthday to my bestest cousin!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Sides, Veggie. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

