Key West Grilled Chicken

Another winning recipe from Iowa Girl Eats! I just love her website – so many great recipes and ideas. I have no idea where she gets the time?

IMG_2019

I made her chicken pretty much copycat. For her side, instead of rice, she used a lightened up version using riced cauliflower. I love this idea and tried something similar, but it still needs tweaks before a recipe is posted.

IMG_2007

Key West Grilled Chicken slightly adapted from IGE – her recipe also featured a mango salsa which isn’t my thing, but does look delicious

1/4 cup soy sauce

3 Tbsp. honey

2 Tablespoons vegetable or canola oil

3 Tablespoons fresh lime juice (1-2 limes worth)

3 garlic cloves, crushed

1/2 jalapeno, seeded

1/4 cup fresh cilantro

2 green onions, trimmed and cleaned

4 chicken breasts

For the chicken: Whisk together soy sauce, honey, vegetable oil, lime juice, and garlic in a small bowl. Place chicken breasts in a ziplock bag and pour mixture on top. Add jalapeno, cilantro and green onions. Squish to coat chicken in marinade, then refrigerate overnight. Grill chicken over medium-high heat for 4-5 minutes a side, basting with the leftover marinade a few times as it grills.

IMG_2009

I love this photo of all the greens and whites. By the way, this smelled amazing chopping all of this up.

IMG_2011IMG_2013

I let it marinade overnight. I also grilled the jalapeno that was placed in the baggie to serve on the side. I like some heat!

IMG_2016

Such a great summer dish!

IMG_2018

This was so super moist, sweet, salty and a bit of spice. A perfect mix of flavors.

IMG_2020

Winston is never far away. Ha!

IMG_2023

Oh and hello! I chopped my hair even shorter. Who knew it could go shorter. Don’t mind that one part sticking straight up. Enjoy this chicken recipe!

About Feisty Eats

I love to eat, entertain, exercise and try new life adventures. I am in my 30's and have a great husband, dog (Winston) and cat (Brinklie). I love to try or make new recipes and drink new beers.
This entry was posted in Grilling, Main Dish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

